broken glass

I honestly think that in a past life my sole profession was “person in charge of breaking mirrors.”

I was rear ended at a stop light yesterday.

The damage was much worse than the last time this happened. Mainly because it was a big ass truck with some type of contraption on the front. Also, he was going a lot faster and if I hadn’t been driving defensively, my car would be a giant accordion right now.

I went to the hospital this morning, as I woke up very sore. I think the adrenaline from the accident hid most of this last night.

Thankfully, nothing was broken, but there was a lot of bruising and there is quite a bit of inflammation on my back/neck/shoulder area. Different place than last time at least. The doctor couldn’t believe how much bruising was along my collarbone from the seatbelt. I actually hadn’t noticed it until I got home last night. I do bruise easily though, and those heal.

Just so frustrated, as it took me so long to recover from the last accident. I am hoping as I am in better shape, it won’t take as long now.

Oh, and did I mention the idiot that hit me didn’t even have a valid license?

Hoping I won’t have too much problem with ICBC, but apparently I cannot get my car fixed until the other driver files a claim. No idea how this works if he doesn’t file. Shall know more on Wednesday when I meet with the adjuster. At least everything I need to get to is in walking distance.

Now, a few days off to rest.

Hope everyone else is having a better long weekend! How are you celebrating?

4 Comments

Filed under accidents

4 responses to “broken glass

  1. Why is that idiot not in jail? Causing a collision, vehicle damage, not to mention personal injury, all without a license seems like just cause to keep someone behind bars.

    This all sucks so miserably. I really hope that you are able to get the rest you need to recover quickly. Sending you (very gentle) hugs.

  2. kelly

    Over the years I’ve come to learn that there are many people driving without licences or with suspended licences. I could be wrong (it happens) but I think that not having a valid licence will result in him having to repay ICBC for costs to fix your vehicle.

    Hope you feel better soon.
    Not much celebrating this weekend, painting, lawn cutting, dog showering, running.

  3. Barb: Because the police are closed until Tuesday! Yes, you should have seen my face when I went to file a report and found that out. At least I was able to file a report right away with ICBC.

    I’m feeling better this morning. :)

    Kelly: Yes, it definitely will be his insurance that pays for the damage. I think the question is when though, and I can’t drive my car so I need it asap.

    Thanks. Typical long weekend chores. Hope you get a bit of relaxing in!

  4. I’m so glad to hear that you are starting to feel better. Must be all that good clean living you’ve been doing.
    I sure hope the insurance gets settled, and fast!

Leave a Reply

