let it always be known that i was who i am

As much as I enjoy concerting, I would greatly appreciate it if artists embraced the weekend show. These mid-week concerts are killing me. I might have to start drinking caffeine in the morning. Radical, I know.

Last night, Westcoast Walker and I took in Andrew Bird at the Vogue Theatre and it was a blast. The perfect combination of violin, whistling and handclaps. I’ve never seen someone play the violin with such vigour before. He played a lot of his older songs, which brought out the guitar, which was something I really missed on his last album.

Before his encore, he ended with a perfect rendition of Fake Palindromes that brought everyone to their feet. Twas great.

Laura Marling opened. This was one of the songs I enjoyed from her last night.

3 Comments

Filed under music

3 responses to “let it always be known that i was who i am

  1. I’m also a fan of concerts that begin early, especially ones on a school night. That happens all too rarely.
    Sounds like it was an absolutely delightful concert. I would love to see Andrew Bird play a proper concert sometime, having only seen him (and Laura Marling as well, oddly enough) in a festival setting.

  2. Thankfully, it wasn’t too late, but the drive home did me in.

    It was, so glad we opted to go to it over Elvis. Funny, wonder if he only tours with her? I’d never really heard of her before.

  3. kelly

    quite enjoyed that song, thanks

Leave a Reply

