mystery of the swollen dark circles

So this just appeared under my eye about 30 minutes ago. At least I think.

My eye was itchy, then I had a coughing fit and went to the bathroom and noticed, hey, that’s puffy and red.  You can’t really tell from the photo, but it is rather swollen.

Common with a cold? Today, for the first time in years my nose started to bleed again. Perhaps it’s sinus related?

Enough with this being sick already. Anyone else ever had a curious side effect from a cold?

5 Comments

Filed under sad eyes, sick

5 responses to “mystery of the swollen dark circles

  1. Wandering Coyote

    That is very strange indeed. I am now staring to feel a cold coming on myself, that telltale bit of soreness in the back of my throat…UGH! I’ll wait and see how it progresses overnight, but I don’t have a good feeling about this.

  2. barbara

    Good lord, that’s disturbing! I wonder if it’s an allergic reaction to something. I do hope it’s abated and that you are feeling better coldwise.

    I don’t recall getting any strange cold side effects, but I do occasionally get a rash on my throat when I wear a scarf. So much for my new found scarf fashionableness!

  3. iduality

    WC: I hope it passes – I wasn’t contagious anymore. Hope you feel better soon!

    Barb: Yeah, just a bit. It’s still here this morning…hopefully it’ll go away soon.

    Certain materials do that to me as well. The price of fashion. ;)

  4. kelly

    I’m wondering if it’s a chelazion. Which is kind of a lump under or below the eyed lid. Is it a hard lump? or squishy? I’ve had chelazion but I don’t recall them going far below the eye. Anyhow, I had to have mine scraped off. Maybe a ruptured vessel from coughing?

  5. It went away – I’m pretty sure it was just swelling due to the sinuses. It left a bruise, but hopefully that will be gone soon. I put some teabags on my eyes and that helped.

Leave a Reply

