karma

I truly believe in karma.

What you put out definitely comes back to you in some form.

Tonight, as I was leaving the gym I went into Shoppers to buy some milk. As I was standing in line to pay, I noticed things were moving a bit slow. I looked a few people ahead and there seemed to be a bit of a kerfuffle at the cash register. I tilted my head to get a better view, and could see the cashier taking a few contents from the woman at the counter and putting them to the side. Then the man behind her stepped up and handed over some money. The women in line didn’t have enough money to pay. What she was buying two jars of baby food and milk. What the cashier had put aside were two bags of rice crackers. The woman accepted the man’s money, and was so thankful. The man replied with, “You’re welcome. I know what it’s like to be in that position, so it was my pleasure.”

I too know what that’s like, and had I been the one behind her, I would have done the exact same thing.

Never underestimate the kindness of strangers.

2 Comments

Filed under kindness

2 responses to “karma

  1. It’s heartening to see someone step up to help out someone in need, although disheartening to see that need in the first place. He handled that so graciously.

    And I can certainly relate, having had to choose between groceries and cat food myself, although a baby in need is a lot more dire.

  2. Yes, definitely sad that the need was there in the first place. I was impressed how he handled it, warmed my heart.

Leave a Reply

