he’s right on top of us. i wonder if he is using the same wind we are using.

I was reading this piece on io9, which lists their top ten words of wisdom from sci-fi/fantasy films. I thought it fitting, as I had just started rereading The NeverEnding Story, which made the list.

“Never give up and good luck will find you.”

Well, we can’t dive down a hole of cynicism all the time — especially when we’ve watched The NeverEnding Story at an early age. When a big hairy dragon says good luck will find you, and then helps a skinny little fantasy-reader-nerd terrify his bullies, and then flies him off to a magical kingdom, sometimes even the stoniest heart has to melt.

More often, catchphrases always stick with me from films, “I’d buy that for a dollar!” and the like, but I enjoyed this list.

Still, they left off a piece from Harry Potter I thought should have made the cut. The scene between Dumbledore and Harry at Kings Cross station.

“Tell me one last thing,” said Harry, “Is this real? Or has this been happening inside my head?” Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real? 

Filmic words of wisdom that would make your list?

9 Comments

Filed under films

9 responses to “he’s right on top of us. i wonder if he is using the same wind we are using.

  1. kelly

    the only one that comes to mind is from jaws, I may not get it totally right.
    “We’re going to need a bigger boat”

  2. I’ve never seen Jaws, but I recall hearing the quote in the clips, etc.

  3. kelly

    i was about to express surprise when I realized Jaws may have been released (1975) before you were born. At that time everybody saw it. I recall seeing it at the drive-in with the family. I kinda miss drive-ins.

  4. I’ve seen bits and pieces of it, but story-line never grabbed me enough to watch it all the way through. I started with Spielberg at E.T.

    There are still drive-ins, just harder to come by. We have a few back home.

  5. f-dog

    “Wake up, time to die.”

  6. “I’m quite all right, Barbara, I ran it under a cold tap” – Phillip from Shaun of the Dead.

  7. F: That line isn’t in the book the film is written after. Should be, good line.

    Barb: Man, I love that movie. Time for a rewatch methinks.

  8. kelly

    and of course many monty python quotes such as..

    “I’m not dead”

    It’s only a flesh wound”

  9. “This is just like television, only you can see much further.”

Leave a Reply

