hurry up, we’re dreaming

What’s the first creative moment you remember?

She asked, leaning forward clasping her hands under her chin, a bemused smile stretched across her lips.

I kept seeing the Cheshire Cat and envisioned a fluffy tail dancing in the background.

I looked around the room and everyone seemed to be staring at the same invisible spot. Equally stumped by the question.

My first memory is certainly not my first creative moment. Although there is something poetic about running away from home at the age of three and having your Grandmother chase you with a wooden spoon. I made it all the way to the railway tracks, at least 10 blocks away from our house before I was dragged back and to the hospital, where my brother had just been born.

The first time I wrote that story out in full detail, was the first time I knew I wanted to be a writer.

Does that count?

Or would it be the first time I made art on my own; ceramic finger puppets. The most practical thing ever. Way better than a pet rock. Although equally dense.

Or what about the made up figure skating routines, the first play I performed in.

The, the…

This is going to take some time. I’ll get back to you.

What about you, what’s the first creative moment you remember?

5 Comments

Filed under honeybees, memory, writing

5 responses to “hurry up, we’re dreaming

  1. My kindergarten teacher was impressed that I suggested the word “zucchini” for Z. I know now that knowing trivia doesn’t even necessarily equal intelligence, let alone creativity. But it did awaken a sense in me that the unexpected impresses people. Creativity?

  2. Being chased with a wooden spoon always counts! Nothing fires up creativity more than a cooking implement across the hindquarters, after all.

    Hallowe’en seems to have sparked my first creative moments. I recall the magic of the crayons and the blank piece of paper before me and wanting desperately to transfer my inner images of haunted woods and broomsticks to the outer world. Never quite succeeded, but the urge is still there.

  3. John: Most definitely. And now I want some homemade chocolate zucchini bread.

    Barb: Hallowe’en is a great example. I had forgotten how much fun drawing out ideas and dressing up in costume was when we were young.

  4. Being chased by a grandmother wielding a wooden spoon is such a fairy tale-esque thing to happen, really.

    I remember being around 6 years old, a time when people would always give me novelizations of Disney animated films as gifts. I never liked how any of the stories turned out – Pocahontas especially. So I rewrote the entire thing, and added my own illustrations . I don’t know where it is now, but I can promise you it was an improvement on the Disney version. There was more blood, for one thing.

  5. Ha. I suppose so. Never really thought of it like that.

    Please look for that! I would love to see what you came up with. More blood and all. ;)

    We weren’t big into Disney films growing up, but we went to Disney World a few times. Strange.

Leave a Reply

