sugar and spice

I don’t think I’ll ever use canned pumpkin in cooking again.

Pumpkin patch 5 minutes from my house. Two sugar pumpkins – $5


Cleaned and ready to start prepping

All the gross bits 

Hallowed out and seeds ready to be washed

Suction!  Cooked pumpkin 

After I’ve scooped out the cooked pumpkin

Cooked seeds

Pie with homemade crust before going in the oven

Finished result!

Waiting for it to cool…

If it tastes as good as it smells, I’ll be pleased.

Happy Thanksgiving!

5 Comments

Filed under food and such

5 responses to “sugar and spice

  1. ali

    That looks amazing! I bet those pie innards were delicious. ;-)

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Mmmmm. I’ll bet that pie was worth the extra effort. Now I wish I had made a pie after all…

  3. Ali: Oh, they were! :)

    Happy Thanksgiving to you as well!

    Barb: It was, so delicious. There will be left overs but not sure if the pie will be still good by the end of the week when I see you.

  4. kelly

    pumpkin has always been my most favourite pie. Company is bringing the pie for dinner tonight. I use canned for convenience sake, as long as I getthe pure pumpkin and not the canned pie filling. Are sugar pumpkind different than your average grocery store pumpkins?

  5. I don’t think I could ever go back to canned now. Sugar pumpkins are smaller. The larger ones apparently aren’t good for baking.

Leave a Reply

