soundclouds

I am supposed to be holding a sledgehammer and tearing apart shelving at the museum today. Instead I am editing a display, and creating agendas and tasks for the students for this week. Clearly, not as fun.

Foolish of me to think our cabinets would be arriving on time.

It’s also 13C (55F) outside, and although I am definitely not a fan of the hot heat, I do like a little warmth to get the digits moving. Something just isn’t right about warming your hands over the space heater at the end of June.

Still, the weather hasn’t deterred me from getting out this weekend. “Vancouver Sunny” as I like to call it, works for patios and libations. Our restaurant patios have heaters too, so that helps. Over the last few days I’ve managed to have two great nights out with friends whom I hadn’t seen in a while, plus connecting with another two friends via Skype. I don’t think I could have lasted in this nomadic lifestyle without video Skype.

In addition to thought provoking conversations, I’ve been taking it a lot of films lately, both at the cinema and on the home front. Perhaps the biggest surprise was my enjoyment over the popcorn flick X Men: First Class.  Not usually one I typically would enjoy,  but it really surprised me. I think this prequel was far better than the others in the series. I’m even going back to see it again when the Boy visits next week. This was my compromise so I didn’t have to watch Green Lantern, which frankly looks like rubbish.

What films are you looking forward to this summer? What ones have you enjoyed recently?

7 Comments

Filed under stuff and things

7 responses to “soundclouds

  1. kelly

    I was thinking recently how we use to enjoy the drive in’s. We would get a bunch of friends, several cars, and coolers with beer. I’m thinking it’s been almost 20 yers since I’ve been to one. I wonder if any are still around

  2. We took the kids to Mr. Popper’s Penguins last night. They liked it. I, most definitely, did not.

  3. Kelly: I know there are definitely drive in’s back East, but I haven’t come across any in the lower mainland. There is a group called Outdoor BC, and they put up screens in cities to play movies outside in the summer.

    John: Ouch. I saw the trailer for that and it looked rather painful. Hopefully that wasn’t your Father’s Day gift! ;)

  4. Very sorry to hear that the sledgehammer swinging has been put on hiatus, because that would certainly rawk.

    If it makes you feel any better, we are sharing the same cold wet spring. Summer starts in two days, doesn’t it. Time to step things up a bit, I think.

    I was very much looking forward to seeing Night of the Living Dead at the Plaza this weekend. WIth George A Romero in attendance! Sadly, Mr Romero broke his arm and had to cancel. The Exorcist and a Q&A with Linda Blair just didn’t have the same appeal.

    I’m not sure what other movies I want to see, but The Green Lantern is definitely not one of them.

  5. Thankfully it was just postponed only a week. Sledgehammer activities will take place next Monday!

    I know, right. Even an increase of 5 degrees would be pleasant!

    Shame to hear your movie and Q&A was cancelled – that would have been a great night out! I’ve never seen The Exorcist myself, although I’ve done my fair share of projectile vomiting.

  6. I adore the new X-Men as well, as you know. I will be staying far far away from the Green Lantern, mainly because it looks awful, and also because Blake Lively is in it. That girl sounds like she’s speaking through a mouthful of peanut butter all the time. Enunciate, for the sake of the English language! I was also pretty interested in Super 8, but all the reviews I’ve read so far have been meh, so I might just wait for the DVD.

  7. I wouldn’t really recommend Super 8. I love JJ, but this one fell flat for me. I’d heard comparisons to a “modern E.T.” but E.T. had more heart, this one kind of shoved that in at the end. It’s definitely a renter.

Leave a Reply

