come out of your head

It’s time for the monthly question round-up!

Do you collect anything? If so, what?

What was your favourite book as a child? What was your favourite film?

If you could have possession of any single object in the world, what would you want it to be?

If you could visit one known planet, which one would you go to? Why?

If you were given one hour to spend an unlimited amount of money in one store, which would it be?

If you could only see one film ever again, which film would you choose?

If you could have a song written about you, what musician would you want to compose it, who would perform it and what would it be titled?

8 Comments

Filed under stuff and things

8 responses to “come out of your head

  1. Interesting questions this month.

    I don’t collect anything. I’m more of a purger, myself.

    Probably my favourite book as as child was The Yearling. The first one I read without a canned happy ending. I didn’t have a favourite film as a child, as the only ones I saw were of the caveman versus giant ant variety that they aired at the high school on Saturday mornings. Fun, but not too compelling.

    I would like to visit Venus. I imagine its clouds hide some amazing secrets.

    The one film ever again question is surprisingly easy for me. Local Hero, for sure. I have watched it so many times, I could probably quote the entire film, yet never get tired of it.

    The others, I need to consider a bit.

  2. I’m keen to hear everyone’s responses – especially to the last one!

    I don’t think I’ve read The Yearling – but I certainly recall the first story I read without a canned happy ending. Those still remain my favourite endings.

    I’m still waffling on the film. It’d probably be a Bogart film though.

  3. kelly

    I don’t collect anything but I do have a large collection of very old salt and pepper shakers. My grandpa was a long haul trucker and use to bring them home for my granny. I inherited them because I use to play with them oh…..40 years ago when I was young

    It was the book about the 3 or 5 chinese brothers.
    The earliest films I can remember liking were Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and 20,000 leagues under the sea.

    I remember those movies Barb mentioned, 1950’s and 60’s B movies, also the serial westerns. Saturday mornings in the winter at the youth centre.

    Possession huh? that’s tough because I don’t like to covet “things” There are good answers like possessing good health and family etc, and these are given but I’m assuming the question is about objects..actual things….I will go for something unattainable…a Ferrari. red of course

    Honestly I would like to see the rest of the one i live on.

    This is kind of boring but I would have to say Costco so I could buy a crap load of groceries and things that my family could use.

    Considering I don’t re-watch films, none, but if I had to choose one….no I couldn’t.

    Jimmy Buffet, he could compose and sing it. titled something like “a Life working to much, not enjoying the margaritas” obviously I don’t write songs or titles

  4. I think I’ve asked that first one before – as I recall you mentioning those.

    Unlimited food supply – smart!

    I wish they would play shorts before films at the cinema now before the feature instead of commercials.

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard a Buffet song – I’ve only heard others sing that Margarita song.

  5. jmutford

    Do you collect anything? If so, what?
    –Books, I guess. Coffee mugs from my travels.

    What was your favourite book as a child? What was your favourite film?
    Book: Very young, The Very Hungry Caterpillar. Little older, either Charlotte’s Web or Bunnicula. Film? The Goonies.

    If you could have possession of any single object in the world, what would you want it to be? This is the toughest one of the lot. If there’s a aeroplan card with unlimited miles, then that. But you probably want something real.

    If you could visit one known planet, which one would you go to? Why? Mars. It’s best chance of survival I think. .000003 percent chance.

    If you were given one hour to spend an unlimited amount of money in one store, which would it be? Geez, maybe this one is the toughest. The material questions are difficult. Some electronics store I guess?

    If you could only see one film ever again, which film would you choose? Sister Act 2.

    If you could have a song written about you, what musician would you want to compose it, who would perform it and what would it be titled? Dylan. People would automatically think I’m more important than I actually am. It would be called Nomad Magazine.

  6. I collect magnets from my travels.

    James and the Giant Peach is one of my favourites. I must have read that one a million times.

    The Goonies is playing at one of the drive-ins here this summer – can’t wait!

    I’m with you on Mars…

    The material questions are hard, I know. You all are coming up with great answers though.

    Sister Act is a timeless classic. My mistake, Sister Act 2.

    I LOVE the song choice title. Jealous I didn’t come up with it myself. ;)

  7. Do you collect anything? If so, what? – Music, rather obsessively

    What was your favourite book/film a child? – Favourite book was a tie between Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe and a stack of “choose your own adventure” books (I liked to read ahead and manipulate the outcome)

    If you could have possession of any single object in the world, what would you want it to be? – Something connected to someone I admire – like a hand written notebook containing first drafts of Bob Dylan’s lyrics.

    If you could visit one known planet, which one would you go to? Why? – I like the one I am on, and sadly there is so much of it I have yet to see.

    If you were given one hour to spend an unlimited amount of money in one store, which would it be? – I seem to recall a giant record/book store in Portland that would do just fine!

    If you could only see one film ever again, which film would you choose? – this one is painful – I don’t want to cop out, so for now I’ll have to say it’s a tie between Richard Linklater’s “Slacker” and the Lord of The Rings Trilogy

    If you could have a song written about you, what musician would you want to compose it, who would perform it and what would it be titled – I think a Bowie penned song would be grand – he could come out of musical retirement to perform “Matthew Stardust”

  8. A few years ago I found some choose your own adventure books at a used book store and couldn’t resist. So much fun!

    Ooh, nice choice. When I visited the Picasso museum in Spain, the exhibition on display at the time was a look instead his sketch books. Would be amazing to have a personal notebook from an artist you admire.

    I’ll need a name! Plan to visit there this fall. :)

    You know, I still haven’t seen the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. Read the books, just haven’t gotten around to the films.

    Ha ha! I’d love to hear that one.

Leave a Reply

