so many extraordinary gifts…how can you expect to lead an ordinary life?

On Saturday as I was looking for a film to watch before bed and Little Women caught my eye. I don’t think I’ve seen the film adaption or reread the books since I was a teen. Wanting to see if the story held up, I put it on.

Perhaps it’s because over at the The Book Mine Set Anne Shirley has been steadily winning all the recent character compares, but I’ve had strong literary heroines on the mind. Thus, Little Women was a perfect fit. I never took to the flowery language and characters in any of Jane Austen’s novels, because I couldn’t identify with the characters. Whereas in Alcott’s novels and  Lucy Maud Montgomery tales I could find not only one, but many characters to relate to. I believe they both wrote stronger females. One could argue it was a different era between Austen’s work and the others, however, one of my favourite Gothic novels by Ann Radcliffe in the late 1700s holds another one of my favourite female leads, Adeline, so I’m not convinced time periods had anything to do with it.

Watching the film version of Little Women just reminded me how much I loved the character of Jo March, and how important those books and the Anne of Green Gables series were to a pre-teen girl. I remember getting those books in hard cover when I was six or so and they were the greatest challenge, but also the most rewarding to read.

What literary character do you most identify with?

What literary character do you least identify with?

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “so many extraordinary gifts…how can you expect to lead an ordinary life?

  1. I’m not certain if I have ever seen the film adaptation of Little Women, but I certainly remember the books very well. I agree that the characters in Little Women were much easier to identify with than any of Jane Austen’s characters, who (let’s face it) never really did worthwhile.

    I’ll have to give your questions some more thought, but I have always felt an affinity with Del Jordan, from Alice Munro’s Lives of Girls and Women.

  2. I’ve seen the older version of Little Women in school, but this weekend I watched the more recent (mid 90s) adaption. It was good, for the ground it needed to cover.

    I don’t believe I’ve ever read Lives of Girls and Women. I know there’s a copy of it at my parents house though. Shall have to borrow it next time I’m home.

Leave a Reply

