when sleep don’t visit

While I was at VGH this week for my neurologist appointment I saw an advertisement for a sleep study. Curious I pulled the brochure down from the board, and read it while I was waiting. I had no idea the variety of sleep studies out there. When I was in university, I almost participated in one but I had to drop out at the last-minute due to scheduling. It’s always been something I’ve still though about, mainly because, as I’ve written here before – I don’t sleep very well.

I sleep more or less in 2 hour intervals. My typical pattern is waking up at 1.30, 3.30, 5.30, 6.30. If I go to sleep before 11, I”ll usually wake up at midnight too. It doesn’t really bother me anymore, I’m used to it, but I’m curious if anything would come out of participating in a sleep study.

What do you think? Have you ever participated in any scientific studies?

I mean, look at this picture. It all seems so cheerful…

4 Comments

Filed under honeybees

4 responses to “when sleep don’t visit

  1. I used to sign up for all the psych ones. I just remember a lot of photos where we were forced to make judgments about people.

  2. iduality

    Doesn’t sound like a lot of fun. Did you get paid, by chance?

  3. The Offspring participates in all those psych ones as well; they get marks for it!

    I’ve given blood at work for some baseline determinations in a protein marker study, but other than donating plasma every week in university, that was about it. Used to get $10 each time I gave plasma too!

    I didn’t realize until now that normal people don’t wake up every 2-3 hours. I guess I don’t sleep very well either.

  4. Nice! I probably would have done that if we got credit for it.

    At least I’m in good company. ;)

Leave a comment