we’re out looking for astronauts

Had the police and a community police vehicle drive by twice already today, so that’s comforting. Especially since my volunteer canceled, and I’m here alone. This place always is a bit more lively with more people. You hear the creaks less.

It’s been a weird week.

So much happened work wise in just three days, it’s been really overwhelming. My boss is now away on holiday until the third week in April, so I’m taking on her duties, on-top of mine, and we have a huge event on Saturday. The grant money couldn’t have fallen from the sky at a better time.

I’m actually really excited about getting to change the entire first floor of the museum over the next few months. Something no one has even touched in 20 years. I’ve only managed to install one temporary gallery, and change a few things, but this is going to be a total overhaul. We’re going to even do a re-opening in the fall, too. I think then, I’ll feel as though I accomplished all I had set out with this job, in just 2 years. It’s a good feeling. I’ll also feel less guilty after the 2 year mark looking for another job.

This week I also upgraded my brick of a cellphone, which I’d had for 3 years and switched over to an iphone. Amazingly, just a little more than I was spending with my other plan, and getting a hell of a lot more out of it.

Well, that’s the minutiae from these parts.

What are you getting up to this week?

2 Comments

Filed under stuff and things

2 responses to “we’re out looking for astronauts

  1. It’s good to hear that the police are taking the situation of the creeper seriously.

    I’m amazed at how quickly things are starting to happen at the museum! It reminds me of when the grant money would start rolling in annually when I worked at the university. All of a sudden, we could buy lab supplies again.

    Pat yourself on the back for achieving your goals in such a short timeframe!

  2. Yes, I was actually really surprised myself to see them drive by.

    It’s going to look like an entirely different building when you visit in the fall. We’re getting the outside painted too (fingers crossed).

    Yeah, we have to spend this money by the end of August. Laptops and post-its for all!!

Leave a Reply

