push

I’ve never really been able to accept compliments.

They make me uncomfortable, and I always feel I need to reveal a flaw in return. Since yesterday, I’ve been mulling over that writing offer, I don’t really want to get into specifics here, but it’s been pinging around my head and I was leaning towards not following it up, and then I received this little e-mail from my writing teacher tonight.

Hullo Allison,

I read your beautiful chapbook “In Colour and Black & White” and just wanted to tell you how touched I am by your honesty & your ability to capture intense experience without overwhelming the reader.

All the best and much pleasure with your poetry.

Sometimes all it takes is a little push from a relative stranger.

Thanks for your kind words here too. I really appreciate it. Perhaps someday I’ll post some actual writing here.

Something that made you smile today?

6 Comments

Filed under honeybees, writing

6 responses to “push

  1. f

    Excelsior!
    Had quite a few smiles today…

    Old Friend that I just re-met revealed today that he had purchased the game Munchkin because it looked fun, I revealed to him that I had purchased it a while ago but haven’t had anyone to play it with.

    New Death Cab For Cutie single made me smile.

    Robin Pecknold asking for and quickly receiving a What.CD invite was another great moment today…

    …and then I felt like a bit of a pleb that I had to google “chapbook” ;)

  2. Sweet! I recall you mentioning that game, I’m glad you have someone to share it with now.

    Yes, me too. He’s been the source of a lot of online amusement today. Next to Johnny Marr, he’s my favourite musician on Twitter.

    Ha! Well, gotta keep you grounded, you know. I thought I told you about the chapbook, perhaps I didn’t elaborate.

    It’s been a pretty stellar start to the week!

  3. I really hope that you look at what this writing gig will entail, to help you weigh the pros and cons. And then I will remind you that one should always listen to their writing prof!

    Glimpses of the sun made me smile. Sometimes that’s enough.

  4. That’s good advice. I’ll e-mail you more about the details later on today. :)

    I certainly hope that the sun makes the snow melt. It’s nearly April – you need to see green!

  5. That’s a great compliment! I do hope you follow through.

    Something that made me smile: pregnant friends! I love it!

  6. I think I will.

    I like buying baby clothes for friends’ kids. So tiny, you can get away with anything.

Leave a Reply

