come gather ’round people, wherever you roam

One the assignments for my writing class this week is to bring in a “dream fragment.” Easy for me, as I keep track of those things. Only question now is which one do I bring in that won’t elicit the three-headed monster look.

Just before I woke up this morning, I had a curious dream. With a soundtrack even.

Bob Dylan’s “The Times They A-Changin’ ” was blaring in the background while we ran through a muddy field. We were England, and running to Kings Cross station. I know this, as I was holding a ticket in my hand. Then the field turned into a race track, but still mud lined, and my boots got stuck. There was also another song played on top of the Dylan. But I don’t think it was an actual song, I think they were just words I strung together in my sleep state.

I wish more of my dreams had good soundtracks.

Have any good dream fragments lately?

5 Comments

Filed under dreams

5 responses to “come gather ’round people, wherever you roam

  1. WBB

    No good dream fragments here for me. I just don’t seem to remember them. One time I had a dream with a soundtrack – the song was “Woke Up this Morning” (theme from The Sopranos) and it inspired a very profound dream. That was cool, but that was 10 years ago.

  2. kelly

    I wish I could remember more dreams. The ones I do remember tend to be odd but I think that is common for most people. I don’t recall hearing of many dreams that imitate real life. As far as you’re dreams resulting in a 3 headed monster look I suspect that would be the norm.
    A couple weeks ago I was woken from my sleep because of the noises I was making. Robbie thought I was in distress because it sounded like a combination of grunts, growls, and snorts. In my dream I was laughing. It was the kind of laughter that results in tears and one holding their belly. I was able to describe to her what led up to the laughing but now I don’t remember why.

    As far as nightmares go, I like them. I don’t enjoy them or the feeling you get in your stomach after you wake up. I am fascinated by them and the power of the mind that can create those images and the reality of them. When I wake from one I will try and go back to sleep and get into it. It doesn’t work. I suspect it’s a coping thing form our mind, we become so wide awake that it’s gone.
    But then again, what do I know

  3. Will: The more I started to pen them down, the more I was able to recall them when I woke up. Most times to I know I’m dreaming, so I think that helps. At least with the remembering part, not so much with the ‘what does it mean?’

    Funny how music can really effect a dream. I don’t have those often enough, I wish I did. Well, one good one every decade it good too. ;)

    Kelly: At least you were able to have a good laugh over it.

    Yes, dreams/nightmares are really fascinating when you think they come from our mind just wandering. Also what its been exposed to that day. Nearly impossible to fall back into the same dream, but I often have recurring dreams. Not the same thing, but kind of comforting all the same.

  4. I had one a few nights ago in which my boss took something I owned and started jumping on it, trying to break it. I’ve gone over it again and again and I can’t for the life of me remember what it was.

  5. Oh, that would frustrate me. Perhaps it will be recurring and you’ll get to see what it is…

Leave a Reply

