can i touch this?

Over the past week we’ve had almost every single class of Gr.2’s from the area through the museum.

A bit exhausting, but at times highly entertaining. Our last group through today was a split grade – 2/3 – some of whom remembered me from last year (“but you had different glasses. and your hair was shorter. i like your hair now.”). Our first stop on the tour is the temporary gallery, which currently has an underclothes exhibit on display (soon to be puppets).

As you can imagine; hilarious to this age group.

They are fascinated by the elaborate slips and corsets and how much work goes into holding up a pair of stockings.

They didn’t have elastic? Woah.

Sometimes before I show the stockings and garters I’ll ask them how they think stockings/socks were held up before elastic was invented.

Top answers today included:

A pulley system operated with string

They just had fatter legs

Everyone walked on their hands

Gravity was more powerful back then

It’s when I hear these answers I know I made the right choice in not being a teacher. My first response is always laughter (although I turn that into a smile and laugh inside), and I always have more of a joking-talk-back relationship with the kids. I would have been a horrible teacher.

Plus, I like it so much better this way.

When you were young, what did you want to be when you “grew-up”?

6 Comments

Filed under curator chronicles

6 responses to “can i touch this?

  1. First I wanted to be a farmer, then a veterinarian. Something with animals. Now I teach middle school. Damned monkey’s paw.

  2. kelly

    i like when kids come by the fire hall, although I know I don’t have a great rapport with them and the comfort that some other guys do. Kids can be hilarious, I wish I was able to be more relaxed around them, I’m glad they don’t know they scare me. Give me a good rip roaring fire any day.

  3. John: Animals always scared me a bit when I was growing up, perhaps because we didn’t have many around until I was older. I’ve always been in awe of those who can take care of animals, and for that matter, children. ;)

    Kelly: It’s nice having a fresh perspective on things, for sure. Their energy is unmatched too. I wish I was still that enthusiastic.

  4. f

    So totally miss when I had fatter legs and gravity was more powerful. Nowadays I just walk around on my skinny legs like nothing is weighing me down.

    I don’t think I ever really had a plan when I was little, maybe that’s the problem.

  5. I think it would be awesome to have a teacher who laughs at the class! Far preferable to some of the sour grumps that I have had.

    I love the way their minds work; I would have been snickering too.

    I’m still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

  6. F: It’s lovely isn’t? And those skinny jeans to fit the legs are such a fabulous fashion trend! ;)

    Something to be said about no plan. And no one is just one thing.

    Barb: Me too. My all-time favourite answer to one of my questions about black and white photography, was “Colour didn’t exist until 1970, before then the world was in b/w.” Priceless.

    I think we all are.

Leave a Reply

