apartment living

So I figured out the mystery behind the upstairs neighbour and the microphone.

He’s a gamer who doesn’t believe in using a headset.

I figured this out Saturday morning when I was awoken in the early hours to a long discussion about the difference between World of Warcraft and Final Fantasy. He did not hear my cry of please put on your headset, you wankjacket!

Surprising, as it was rather bloodcurdling.

I accept that I have to hear one side of the conversation, but I really don’t want to have to hear the other. Especially at all hours of the night. He must work shift work.

In an attempt to be neighbourly, instead of just making a complaint, I went to try and reason with him, and ask kindly if he could at least use a headset, or if he didn’t have one then to please turn the volume down.

He got really defensive and told me he had no idea what I was talking about, and then shut the door.

Okay.

I wasn’t rude, and honestly just asked him to turn down the volume, so I’m a bit confused and also miffed at his response. Even as I type this now I can hear him talking into the bloody microphone, which happens to be right above my bed. I’d put in my earplugs, but I’m a bit leery of leaving them in to sleep.

It’s a shame that the average house price in Vancouver is $700,000 to $1 million. I do believe I will forever be a renter. Next flat, I need to be on the top floor.

Any interesting apartment living stories?

2 Comments

Filed under rants

2 responses to “apartment living

  1. I have suppressed all my apartment living memories, as there were too many painful ones. The one apartment in which the building manager who lived in the suite below me and who was also the pimp for the numerous working girls who lived in the building – that was an interesting place, though.

    I feel for you. Nothing worse than other people’s noise.

  2. Wow! Sounds like you have much more interesting stories than just noisy neighbours.

    I’m taking solace in that fact it is not worse than the last place. I team of elephants couldn’t top that family.

Leave a Reply

