up in the attic

Nutcracker statues terrify me.

Not so much pictures of them, but in real life. They make the hair stand up on the back of my neck.

I’m putting together some outreach displays for the holidays, and I was sorting through some artifacts and stumbled upon this giant one in the storeroom and just screamed. Bah.

Are there any figurines, or ornaments (festive or otherwise) that just creep you out?

p.s. More treasures from the storeroom. Yes, that’s a giant mouse candle with holly on its ass. I think I’m going to have to do some kind of holiday candle display next year.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “up in the attic

  1. elf

    I agree Nutcrackers are awful, I think it’s that forced grin. I also hate those cymbal crashing monkeys.

  2. Yes, totally. I find they are worse than puppets. Yeah, they are quite annoying. I think it was a Chemical Brothers video, or something, but it had them in it and it always creeped me out.

  3. kelly

    its not a figurine but that Burger King mascot is seriously creepy.

    I wonder if there was ever a horror movie involving attacking nutcrackers. Someone should mention that to George Romero, maybe they could be zombie nutcrackers

  4. I guess you’re not checking out the Nutcracker 3D movie.

    Precious Moments figurines scare me. Or maybe its the people who buy them. I forget.

  5. Kelly: Yes, the BK mascot is terribly frightening!

    If there is, I haven’t seen it. Thankfully.

    John: There is a 3D Nutcracker film? The thought of that scares me more than the Brave Little Toaster.

    People who buy them. Definitely.

Leave a Reply

