golden

everyone wants me to move, except me.

i don’t want to.

i’m feeling pressure from all sides at the moment.

it’s taken me years to feel settled somewhere. years.

i know life would be more simple if i move back.

yet there is a difference between being settled, and settling.

but no one ever writes that in a manual.

perhaps i should pen a nomad’s guide to survival.

i have lots to say.

and i would leave copies on park benches for other wanderers to pick up.

you’d pick it up and flip through, and then discard it, on the next block.

yes. you would.

because i would too.

7 Comments

Filed under don't panic!, nomad diaries, post-it poems

7 responses to “golden

  1. kelly

    It’s been many years since I had some of that pressure, although I suppose we always do even if it comes from within. Pressure to do what’s right or best for others, or pressure to do stuff at work or pressure to act in a certain way. Some of those pressures are easier to ignore than others. I’m sure you’ll get lots of advice from both sides and no matter what someone will be unhappy, so who is it going to be?

    It’s been eons since I was somewhat nomadic, I kinda miss it, but I am settled.

  2. Yes, I’ve had lots of advice, which I’m thankful for, if only it wasn’t such a complicated situation. It would be such an easier decision if I didn’t have to worry about student loans, etc.

    I’m trying to embrace my nomadic tendencies in a non physical manner, which is good, best of both worlds.

  3. I think you summed it up in your second sentence. You have to do what’s right for you. Any other path and the resentment follows.

  4. I know. Wise advice. My parents said the same thing. Makes things slightly easier that they are moving to the west coast next year.

    Now just need to move everyone here. :)

  5. I’ve had the reverse pressure. People saying to settle, when I’ve just moved, moved, moved. Sure staying in one spot would have been simpler, but simple, schmimple. I did what I wanted and eventually people stopped giving advice. I settled in my own sweet time, and now I’m happy.

  6. iduality

    I will get the want to move out of my system by moving flats again in August ;) I like your style. I have always been a late bloomer, I know things will figure themselves out.

  7. It took me forever to understand the difference between being settled and settling. I had to get married and divorced before I got it.

Leave a Reply

