there’s rain in tokyo

This is pretty much my view most days.

Hard to complain about a little drizzle, eh. I went out for a walk this morning and just kind of stood for a bit looking at the mountains. They are so peaceful from a distance, especially with the water.

I do love it here, but the east has been on my mind, seeing as it’s Thanksgiving and all. I will be partaking in festivities with an old friend and her extended family. I can’t remember the last time I had Thanksgiving with my family. Probably my fist year of university. I took the 10 hour train trip from Kingston and vowed then never again for a 3 day break. I now save up time and take a longer break in December.

Since then it’s been enjoyable to be invited into other peoples homes, or make my own dinner with friends. Less arguing. Although I guess it wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without a little bit of vocal disagreement. It’s just more amusing when it’s not your family.

Have any humourous holiday stories to share?

2 Comments

Filed under family, food and such, friends, holidays

2 responses to “there’s rain in tokyo

  1. I am notorious for burning the brussel sprouts.

    I am normally quite a competent cook, and I regularly make brussel sprouts, but for some reason, for two Thanksgivings in a row, I steamed the brussel sprouts without any water. The smell was horrid, I had to actually throw out one cooking pot, and Jerry’s parents shook their head at this woman their son married.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. So it’s a good thing you’re taking this year off then, eh? ;) Brussel sprouts are the one vegetable I won’t eat, and the smell has a lot to do with it. I would imagine the burnt smell would be quite bad.

    Happy Thanksgiving, and birthday to you!!

Leave a Reply

