speeds

Sometimes I feel like I have two speeds:

1) Sloth

2) Hurricane

Both enable each other, and its nights like these where I’m cocooned up in bed with two computers and various other mobile devices trying to get stuff done that I begin to evaluate my thought process.

But to be honest, I’m not sure I’d have it any other way. Part of me drives off the adrenaline of it all. It’s also why I keep a notebook on the night table and have stopped being bothered when my brain awakes in the middle of the night with ideas. One must work whenever inspiration strikes, right?

How about you…what are your creative/working speeds?

5 Comments

Filed under honeybees

5 responses to “speeds

  1. I’m the same!

    Although while hurtling through tasks at tornado-like speeds seems to be my most effective way of getting things done, I have yet to fully appreciate the ‘sloth speed’… unless it’s a Sunday afternoon when slowing down is all I want to do

  2. Hi Alex,

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Ah yes, the lazy Sunday. Bliss. I feel like my ‘sloth’ speed comes in during the hours of 5-8pm when I normally get nothing accomplished and just want to zone out. My mind always peaks when it should be shutting down.

  3. f

    Sloth/Cheetah are my speeds and Cheetah seems to strike when I am least expecting it. I can’t tell you the number of creative ideas I have lost from not keeping a notebook by the bed. I also do the “Homer” and tune out boring people who are talking at me to think of creative ideas.

  4. Yeah, my fast speed typically strikes when I’m least expecting it too. I realized I needed to start keeping something by the bed when the thought would leave my head by the time I got up and searched for a writing tool and paper. I have since mastered writing in the dark. Sometimes I’ll even grab my phone and type out a text message to myself to jog my memory. Although this sometimes backfires, when I awake in the morning and have no idea why I wrote that.

    The “Homer” comes in handy in boring meetings. :)

  5. Although I am forever jotting down my ideas as well (sometimes to find them months later, only to wonder what the hell they mean), I am more of a long distance runner when it comes to my actual working speed. Not the first off the starting line, by any stretch of the imagination, but I can keep going forever.

Leave a Reply

