the best thing i ever ate

Been doing a lot of Food Network watching as of late.

Enjoying the show The Best Thing I Ever Ate, which as the title suggests, has culinary hosts discussing their favourite meals.

I would have to add this dish below to the list of my favourites. It may not look like much, but it really is sublime.

Roti Roll (peas, paneer cheese, potato, cauliflower and rice) + Vegan Dahl Soup

By far the best soup I’ve ever had – I’m researching soup recipes so I can attempt to make this at home. Even though I know it’ll be hard (if not impossible to replicate), it’s the process right?

So, dear reader…what’s the best thing you’ve ever ate?

6 Comments

Filed under food and such

6 responses to “the best thing i ever ate

  1. Now I am craving that dal soup all over again!

    I really hope that you are able to come even close to replicating that soup, but it really is sublime, very complex flavours, so beautifully blended. It certainly makes my top ten list of best things I ever ate (because who can decide on just one?)

  2. f

    That soup gets my thumbs up just for having the word Dahl in its title. Is that from the East is East place you keep talking about?

    I dunno if it’s the best thing I ever ate, but a place I frequent often has a grilled panini with prosciutto, gorgonzola and provolone and fig paste that is amazing. They also have some great vegetarian ones, like the Europa – roasted red peppers, tomato, artichoke hearts, spinach and smoked mozarella.

    Okay, now I’m hungry…

  3. kelly

    My favourite type of food is dessert. I make cinnamon buns that I have to say are incredible. I start by making croissant dough from scratch and using that.
    So many desserts so little time.

  4. Barb: I woke up this morning still full and wishing I had more soup.

    I couldn’t decide on just one either, a top 5 or 10 list is a must. I will pass along the recipe if I come close – so far the ones I’ve found have a different base than that one.

    F: Indeed it is! It’s a great restaurant, lots of variety and everything is made on site. When you make it up here (yes when, not if ;)) you should really try it out, I think you’d enjoy it.

    I don’t think I’ve ever had anything with fig paste in it – very intruiging. I love artichoke hearts…okay I need to make breakfast now.

    Kelly: The key to any good recipe is making it from stratch isn’t? A cinnamon bun sounds really good at the moment. Definitely going to have to go make some pancakes right now.

  5. f

    Fig paste is the bomb, adds just a hint of sweetness so is best balanced by something savory. I hadn’t ever heard of fig paste before, now I have a jar in my fridge. Also, balsamic pears are great for sandwiches too, I use them on grilled cheese. (insert homer-esque drooling noise here)

  6. I do enjoy figs, so I would imagine I’d enjoy the paste. I’ll have to look out for it at the market.

    I have some balsamic pears on my counter; I eat them with a lot of things. I usually put them into my pita, which has cheese but I’ve never grilled it. I will have to test this out. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

