i think i’ll miss you most of all

Roger Ebert’s 100 Great Moments in the Movies (from 1995). Here are a few of my favourites:

Marcello Mastroianni and Anita Ekberg wading in the fountain in La Dolce Vita.

The computer Hal 9000 reading lips, in 2001: a Space Odyssey.

Buster Keaton standing perfectly still while the wall of a house falls over upon him; he is saved by being exactly placed for an open window.

Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta discuss what they call Quarter Pounders in France, in Pulp Fiction.

E.T. and friend riding their bicycle across the face of the moon.

Jack Nicholson trying to order a chicken salad sandwich in Five Easy Pieces.

The baby carriage bouncing down the steps in Eisenstein’s Battleship Potemkin.

“That spider is as big as a Buick!” Woody Allen in Annie Hall.

Since the list was published in the mid 90s, here are a few of my favourites since then and a few I think are missing from the first list.

Fight Club: “Welcome to Fight Club. The first rule of Fight Club is…”

Kate Winslet talking to Jim Carrey in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind: “Too many guys think I’m a concept, or I complete them, or I’m gonna make them alive. But I’m just a fucked-up girl who’s lookin’ for my own peace of mind; don’t assign me yours.” I remember that speech really well.

Princess and the Warrior tracheotomy with a knife and soda straw.

Natalie Portman in Garden State: “You gotta hear this one song, it’ll change your life I swear.”

Bill Murray selling Whiskey in Lost in Translation; “For relaxing times, make it Suntory time.”

Kerian Culkin talking to Claire Danes in Igby Goes Down about how vegetarians roll joints.

Shaun of the Dead record scene.

Marilyn Monroe talking to Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon in Some Like It Hot; “Story of my life. I always get the fuzzy end of the lollipop.”

Humphrey Bogart as Sam Spade in The Maltese Falcon; “Don’t be too sure I’m as crooked as I’m supposed to be.”

Joseph Gordon-Levitt in The Lookout; “Once upon a time, I woke up. I took a shower with soap.”

Jack Lemmon making spaghetti in The Apartment.

Those are just a few off the top of my head…I’m sure more will come to me later.

Some of your favourite cinematic moments?

5 Comments

Filed under films

5 responses to “i think i’ll miss you most of all

  1. f

    Fight Club: The “Run Forrest Run” Scene.

    Jack Lemon in How to Murder Your Wife talking to the doctor about the effects of the drug… “BRRRRIIIP…..BRRAAAAP”

    The scene in How to Steal a Million when Peter O’Toole and Audrey Hepburn are hiding in the museum.

    The excommunication scene in Becket.

    I could go on and on…

  2. Nice picks! I know, one could sit all day and recite lines/scenes.

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen How To Murder Your Wife. I love Jack Lemmon so I will certainly have to change this.

    You’ve reminded me I need to watch How to Steal a Million again. I was thinking of that movie a few weeks ago when I was reading an article about ‘the greatest art thefts’ in history.

  3. Love the record scene in Shaun of the Dead, but to be honest that movie has dozens of scenes I absolutely adore.

    Here are a few more:
    Marina explaining aurora borealis (“You say the darndest things, Marina”) in Local Hero.

    Final (three in a bed) scene in The Edukators.

    Any scene with the young girl in The Fall.

    I’d better stop there, or I will be here all night.

  4. f

    Totally forgot to mention the “White Lines” scene in SOTD.

    Saw it in the trailer and it is what hooked me into believing I absolutely had to see the movie.

  5. Barb: That it does. I’m looking forward to the next Pegg/Frost film, which they wrote. Comes out next March.

    That’s a really good scene from The Edukators! Great film.

    F: That’ll be stuck in my head all night now! Trailers are an art form in and of themselves. Brits do it best.

    I’m thinking I have to re-watch SOTD soon.

Leave a Reply

