but it’s just meat

Last night the Boy and I went out for Vietnamese food. I had been craving salad rolls all week, so we popped into a place in Coquitlam on our way back home.  Normally when we go out to eat I’ll always ask if certain dishes have meat in them (if not labelled vegetarian) but last night for some reason I didn’t and ordered spring rolls and salad rolls. When they came to the table, I noticed the rolls with lined with pork, and the spring rolls with stuffed with it.

Blast!

I’d only ever had veggie salad rolls before, it didn’t even occur to me that they had pork in them. D’oh! We flagged down the restauranteur and he confirmed our suspicions, offered his apologies (even though it was my fault for not asking), and fixed me up soup veggie soup instead. He came back to the table and continued to have a long discussion with the two of us over the meat vs. veggie diets, and explained how when he met his wife she was also a vegetarian, but after time spent with his “meat-eating family” had to give it up because it was too hard to coordinate meals. He also said he wouldn’t have been able to make the same compromise, and was commending the Boy for in a sense “putting up with my diet.”

We both laughed at this statement, but shared that when we met, he didn’t really eat vegetables at all. I’m serious – not anything that was green, and would run from tomatoes. I’ve never forced him to eat differently and usually when we’re cooking together, he’ll add-on some meat as a separate side, I can only say I have influenced the vegetable intake. This primarily has to do with preparation.

What I found interesting about this discussion with the restaurateur and afterward with the Boy taking about some of his friends with the same feelings was the statement; “Wouldn’t have put up with a vegetarian.” If it doesn’t bother a vegetarian that you are eating meat, why should it bother you if they’re not?

I just don’t get it.

What you ever encountered this situation?

Has there been a compromise you’ve had to make recently?

8 Comments

Filed under stuff and things

8 responses to “but it’s just meat

  1. f

    I dated a meatatarian once – would not eat veggies at all, and it was much more difficult coordinating meals with her than any vegetarian/vegan I have known.

    There are a lot of great vegan and vegetarian places around me.

    So glad I am an omnivore and can enjoy the best of both worlds, but 3 meats on a pizza? Yuck.

  2. iduality

    That would be hard being with someone who didn’t eat veggies at all. I had a friend in uni who wouldn’t eat veg at all, or drink water. Always found that a bit odd. I’m glad to have an omnivore around at least. I think it also helps that I do eat fish.

    There are great vegan and veggie places here too, thankfully. I just happened to stumble into a non veggie friendly zone last night.

  3. kelly

    I compromised and let some evil woman that lives with me eat my leftover sweet potato fries that I brought home from the restaurant……

    Wait…..she just ate them on me while I was out….evil woman

  4. kelly

    I don’t quite get the “putting up with” but vegetarians are a minority, so I can see how the rest of us have to get use to it. Mostly it’s learning that vegetarians don’t just eat veggies. When we have people over for dinner I always ask if anybody is a vegetarian. If there is I banish them to the shed and let them chew on the long grass back there.

    I am kidding, we don’t let them in the yard.

    Really kidding

  5. That is very strange that the restauranteur and some of the Boy’s friends would think it an imposition if someone does not eat meat. Do they think that perhaps it means that they themselves will be eating chick peas every day or something?

    When the SU is away, the RO and I rarely eat meat. It’s so refreshing to not have to have it at every meal.

  6. iduality

    Kelly: Love yam fries! We made them this week. Sorry to hear your leftovers were taken.

    I would argue vegetarians aren’t in the minority that they once were though. Perhaps it’s that more places are veggie friendly, or that the majority of my friends are that make me think this.

    Ha! Well, like any good vegetarian I always carry granola with me, so I’d be fine out by the shed. ;)

    Barb: I think so. I think the unknown scares people. The Boy’s family is like that when I visit.

    It’s nice to change up the diet every now and again isn’t? We’re going to East is East today – I’ll make sure to leave room for when you visit though. :)

  7. kelly

    I agree that more places are becoming veggie friendly. One of our favourite places has many vegetarian dishes, Drooling thinking about the warm beet salad, although it does have goat cheese.

    Vegetarianism has certainly become mainstream and it is easier to go out and eat. Eating meat is easy, it’s everywhere.

  8. Hi,
    I just recently posted a very similar question on Facebook on NYC Vegans and Vegetarians. (Vegans with an “s”).

    Here’s the issue as I see it. You go to a restaurant. Dinner. Busy. You say, No. No to chicken stock, butter, using the same flattop to grill your food, no to the same fry oil for your fries that cooked the chicken wings. Chef says kitchen needs to be turned upside down to accommodate us in the middle of a busy service. Easier for chef to just say can’t do it rather than put that kind of manpower into one persons dish.

    Now, if you can give advance notice of your vegan/vegetarian needs and give the chef some heads up then that’s great. See what happened when I did that in Bozeman, Montana of all places and how the chef stepped up to the plate and hit a home run.

    So when I’m with friends I ask a million and a half questions. Does this have that in it? Do you have soy cheese? Does it have casein in it? Is the rice cooked in water or chicken stock? Does the tortilla for the grilled veggie fajitas have lard in it? how about the beans?

    Man, only my good friends are still with me at this point…or they have learned to ask the questions ahead of my arrival.

    But, the bottom line is they aren’t putting up with US, they are putting up with the RESTRICTIONS we choose to put on our dining experiences, whereas omnivores/carnivores have no issues with what’s in their food as long as it tastes good.

    I always ask if it comes with coupons for a free angioplasty.

    but that’s a different rant.

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegetarian Review
    http://www.martysnycveggiereview.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

