now we’re screaming sing the chorus again

Surprisingly, this list did not take me long at all to compile. It took me longer to link up all the tracks then it did to think of my favourite tracks of the year thus far. I think that says something of the wealth of great music we’ve already been hit with this year, and it’s still only July. I suspect my final year-end list to read a bit differently, but not too much. The greatest thing about the records that have been released this year (for me at least), have been their staying power. It’s taken me weeks (months even) to get through albums. This is how I used to digest music in years past, but recently in the last few I’ve been consuming so much I haven’t been truly listening. Sure, I’ve been listening, but I haven’t been listening.

The music this year has shaken me up a bit and made me slow down. Summed up nicely in this verse for Arcade Fire’s track “We Used to Wait”…

It seems strange
How we used to wait for letters to arrive
But what’s stranger still
Is how something so small can keep you alive
We used to wait
We used to waste hours just walkin around
We used to wait…

My list so far:

Electric President – Safe and Sound

LCD Soundsystem – I Can Change

The National – Lemon World

Tokyo Police Club – Bambi

Wolf Parade – Cave-o-Sapien

Radical Face – Doorways

Arcade Fire – We Used to Wait

The Morning Benders – Excuses

Beach House – 10 Mile Stereo

Spoon – I Saw The Light

Barr Brothers – Beggar in the Morning

Said the Whale – Emerald Lake, AB

The Zolas – You’re Too Cool

Tunes that would make your list?

13 Comments

Filed under honeybees, list it, music

13 responses to “now we’re screaming sing the chorus again

  1. Tough one…
    Mumford & Sons- The Cave
    Mashup Germany- Teaching the ABCs
    Hawksley Workman- Warhol’s Portrait of Gretzky
    possibly Gorillaz- Superfast Jellyfish (I first thought it was the stupidest thing ever, but it’s grown on me)

    Never heard of the Barr Brothers before, but I love that song!

  2. Oh and Eddie Vedder’s cover of My City of Ruins. Technically he performed it in 2009 but only released it as a single in 2010 for Haiti.

  3. I saw the Barr Brothers open for Timber Timbre this past spring and really fell in love with their album. Glad you liked the track!

    Mumford & Sons (although 2009, I’ll still give it to you ;)) – The Cave is a great song! That’s another record that is always in my car.

    I never really got into Gorillaz…perhaps I should relisten too.

  4. I’ve been consuming so much I haven’t been truly listening. Sure, I’ve been listening, but I haven’t been listening.

    Sadly, that’s where I have been finding myself lately. In fact I have more unzipped albums than I care to admit, more cds that have only been listened to once than I ever have in the past.

    So I tip my hat to you, for taking the time to sit down, listen, and really digest. Because that is where the joy really is.

    So ask me again in a couple of months, and I hope to have a proper answer. Or maybe I’ll just use your list…

  5. It starts slowly and then it sort of snowballs doesn’t? I have a few unzipped albums on my desktop that I need to get to, but I’m holding off until I feel like I’m done with the current albums. Perhaps by fall. :)

    Okay, I look forward to your year end list then!

  6. This is a great list my friend and mirrors a lot of what I have been listening to over the past few months. The one that I would add to the list is Avi Buffalo’s | What’s In It For? The song is a very confident statement from a band still very young. I think you would really enjoy their whole record actually.

    Speaking of whole records I am finding that is how I enjoy music most now. An evening walk forces me into listening to one thing in its entirety. My iPod causes musical ADHD for me otherwise.

    Anyway, great job on the list though… So nice to see you include Electric President. You’ll have to wait until the end of the year to see mine though.

    Best,
    s

  7. iduality

    I haven’t taken a listen to Avi Buffalo, I’ll have to add it to my road trip list.

    Not walking as much as I used to has gotten me out of my musical listening zone. Walking is the best way to enjoy a new record. Blip causes too much chaos for me, which is why I have to do it in small doses.

    Well then, I look forward to the end of the year! ;)

  8. f

    Oh shit, I missed a new radical face release?

    First Ray LaMontagne and now this…

    …and I haven’t even heard the Arcade Fire album.

    See this is what happens when your real life starts hurtling at 110 miles an hour, you miss all the good stuff from your virtual life.

  9. Radical Face just came out this week. It’s only an EP and there are three new tracks. Quite good though.

    I haven’t heard the new Ray La Montagne…Arcade Fire hasn’t leaked yet…I don’t think! Just the two singles.

    I feel like I’m always playing a bit of catch-up. I totally missed hearing AF were coming to Van and now tickets are sold out. :( Ah well. Hope you find some good tunes today if you have time! :)

  10. f

    Found the new RadFace, RLM was just a single but I missed it until it had been out a while. Thought AF had leaked, but one of my Journalist friends just has it and was talking it up, not gonna leak it either, the bastard (insert fist shake at people who wish to keep their jobs and not leak new albums ).

    Been really disconnected from my online/long distance friends lately too, need to remedy that.

  11. I just heard the RLM on the radio, so I know I’m out of the loop then. I would have passed along the new AF had it leaked. Pfft! Don’t they know sharing the music is more important? ;) I think it will leak very close to the release date, if at all.

    It’s really hard to keep up, does take the extra effort. I have trouble keeping up with my long distance friends, which is why I love Skype. “Skype Dates” keep me up to date, and are much nicer than e-mail.

  12. f

    Planning on getting a new laptop in the not so distant future, shall look into skyping then since a webcam is standard nowsadays.

  13. Nice. Hope you enjoy your new laptop. The webcam on mine is pretty good. I still use my external but either one does the job. Save you a heap on phone bills too! :)

Leave a Reply

