you must be loving your life in the rain

One of my favourite things about listening to music is that it has this amazing ability to take you somewhere else. No matter how brief the time is, it’s hard to argue that there isn’t something really magical about piece of music only 3-5 minutes long that can captivate you.

The Interweb is abuzz today with the leak of The National’s High Violet. They have been one of my favourite bands since I first discovered them back in 2007 with their release of Boxer. Since then I’ve had the pleasure of seeing them in concert, and devoured their back catalogue so extensively that my mp3 player no longer counts how many times I hit repeat. I can guarantee this album will be on many a year-end list.

However, the thing that struck me most throughout my steady listening of the album today was back to the summer of 2007 and where I was when I first heard their music. Not so much physically, but where I was in life...You could drive a car through my head in five minutes from one side of it to the other…and how much has changed. Three years is not that long, but I feel like I have lived so many different lives in-between. Sure have had enough different postal addresses to make ones head spin. I know I’m a much different person, too. Or as my friend Todd says, “You’re the same, just more vocal.”

It’s comforting to know as you grow, your favourite artists do as well and that the more you listen, the more new associations will be formed. So the twinge of nostalgia becomes less and less but still when you want to ride the wave, it’s there too.

2 Comments

Filed under new music, nomad diaries

2 responses to “you must be loving your life in the rain

  1. Very true. You can all but picture the notes firing along specific neurons, directly to the particular memories they elicit. It’s cerebral, but at the same time, completely viceral.

    Lovely post.

  2. Yes, completely. I can’t wait to listen to this album in the car. My laptop speakers aren’t that great, I need the volume turned up! ;)

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

