playin’ make-up, wearin’ guitar

This is my 1000th post.

Fancy that, eh?

Some of you have been reading my ramblings for over 5 years. You should pat yourself on the back for sticking around so long.  I’ve been here, on WordPress, under the “Flying Buttresses” for almost 3 years. 1000th posts seems like a lot in that amount of time, but as you know, I’m not always the wordiest of the bloggers out there.

I was mulling over what to post for this particular entry, and it came to me while driving in the rain.

I was listening to The Replacements really loud, and I felt the bassline shake through my armrest and as usual when listening to anything Westerberg my mind went somewhere else. He is the great jumping off point for me.

I believe that music finds you at the time in which you’re ready to hear it.

It used to boggle some of my friends minds that I had never listened to Bowie until a few years ago. Even though I sometimes slip into that kind of music snobbery to others, I try to stop myself, remembering if I had not had the helpful guidance of such music minded friends my music listening evolution might have taken a very different route.

However, even though I do believe music finds you when you’re ready for it, what I started to ponder on my car ride into the city today was this…

Top 5 albums you think should be placed in the hands of every 13 yr old.

I pick that age, as it was right around the time I was really getting into music, actually I bit younger even. I had begged my parents to let me have their stereo in my room and even though my town had horrible radio stations, with clever maneuvering of the antenna we would get the feed from across the river and I could pick up the signals from Detroit and tune into the alternative radio station there 89 X.  If I think back, this might be what started my insomnia. I used to stay up until all hours listening to the radio and making tapes. Hardly any of the music I had heard of, but I knew what I liked and would write the names of the artists (when I could catch them) onto my binder and then ask my friends who had older siblings if they knew anything about them.

Oh if only the Interweb had existed then. But I guess the hunt wouldn’t have been as exciting.

So dear reader…what 5 albums helped shape your musical listening?

Sub question: What were you listening to at 13?

p.s. In all my postings here you’ve left over 7,000 comments so I must thank-you. The comment section is really the heart of the blog. Thanks for entertaining me so.

10 Comments

Filed under honeybees, music

10 responses to “playin’ make-up, wearin’ guitar

  1. kelly

    i have no idea that was 1976. I know I always hated disco. That could have been my country phase, Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash and such, was so long ago

  2. That is one music trend I never understood myself. It’s a thinking-cap post, it is. ;)

  3. kelly

    Patsy Cline…use to love listening to her as well. Still do like her music

  4. f

    Hmm at 13 I was listening pretty much to what my friends were listening to so…

    Duran Duran – Rio – I still love this album and after trying to emulate some of the bass lines have a much deeper respect for the musicianship of it.

    Men At Work – Business As Usual – One of those bands that I really don’t listen to at all anymore, but if I hear it on the radio I ride the nostalgia wave.

    Stray Cats – Built For Speed – Another album that lost its appeal over time, but still a good listen if I’m in the mood for that kind of thing.

    Scorpions – Black Out – Yep I was into the Metal when I was 13-14-15 and this is probably one of my least embarrassing Metal choices. Love the dueling guitar work of Jabs and Schenker to this day. Also, this has the best song about Arizona ever on it.

    Rolling Stones – Tattoo You – my first Stones album ever and definitely where all the trouble started. You see I knew this 16 year old girl and she liked this record and would sing along to it, she told me she loved the lyric from “Start Me Up”, especially the line “You’d make a dead man come”. Well I was 13 and naive and had no idea what that meant, but I smiled and pretended I did.

    As you can see my music snobbery didn’t kick in til much later.

  5. Top five albums to give a 13 year old? I shall have to return to that thought, as I know I will live to regret blurting out five right now. And I do now want to steer that 13 year old in the wrong direction!

    The easier question, what was I listening to at 13? Elton John, Gordon Lightfoot, Rolling Stones probably. Nothing earth shattering, but then again we didn’t even have Detroit across the river.

  6. Kelly: Get a bit of a nervous tick when I hear her music, but this is because of my parents and overexposure.

    Fearless: Of your list, I haven’t heard of Stray Cats…shall have to Google. All in all it’s not as bad as it could have been, for a music snob like yourself looking back. ;) You need a mix of everything at that age to find out what you like and don’t like. I enjoyed your introduction to the Rolling Stones story. And it’s good to know that that music snobbery didn’t kick in until later. Although the image of a 13 Fearless walking around with such high tastes is quite amusing. :)

    Barb: It is a question to mull over, most definitely.

    Imagine the possibilities if you could have gotten more exposure then the CBC feed! I’ve always lived on boarder towns (even now) certainly interesting.

  7. f

    Got so caught up in my nostalgia, I forgot the other question. I think these are the five I would give to a thirteen your old, but I would have to come back in 5 years and give him/her 5 different ones at 18.

    The Clash – London Calling – Because thirteen is a good year to start the rebellious punk era, but LC has enough diversity on it to make you think about more than punk rock as well.

    Beatles – Revolver – because it’s a little more immediate and a little more rock and roll than the other beatle albums.

    The Smiths – Louder Than Bombs – I know it’s a compilation but it’s great from start to finish without a clunker on there and everyone should get some Smiths when they are a teen.

    R.E.M. – Life’s Rich Pageant – because Jangly guitar rock belongs to the young, and stipey was still a little mumbley and deciphering lyrics is a fun pastime.

    The Lemonheads – It’s A Shame About Ray – Because bright shiny guitar pop should make you feel good sometimes too.

  8. Had to fish that comment out of my Spam filter. WordPress seems to be putting comments in there a lot lately. Odd.

    Anyway, good choices! It’s true…at 18 there would be very different choices for this list. Perhaps a post for another day.

    I agree that 13 is right around the time one should start their punk phase. It was about that time I started listening to The Clash, Stiff Little Fingers, etc.

    Your mention of the Smiths reminded me that I was going to title this post – “It’s Morrissey’s town, we just live in it.” I’ve always found that quote humourous since seeing it on t-shirt at his concert.

    I didn’t discover the Lemonheads until after their hayday, but they always make me feel happy, and also nostaglic; good combination.

  9. bloody awful poetry

    5 albums you’d give a 13 year-old is a pretty intimidating question, and like Barb I think I’ll need to stew over it for a while. Maybe I’ll turn it into a blog post at some point, with your permission? =)

    As for what I was listening to at age 13, it was mostly stuff along the lines of Oasis, Blur, Coldplay, Keane and Travis. You get the picture. I had not met the Internets yet, and had yet to come across my now firmly ingrained music snobbery. But all the music I enjoy now, I owe mostly to a friend I met in the school library when I was 16 and made me listen to my first ever Smiths song (Bigmouth Strikes Again) and has been my gig buddy for life ever since.

    Congratulations on the 1000th post as well!

  10. Please do! I’d be interested in hearing what you have to say. :)

    Can’t go wrong with that Brit Pop. One of those “This song will change your life moments?” Having a concert buddy is a great thing. I didn’t find mine until much later (now I have a few) and missed out on a lot of concerts as a teen because no one would go with me. Now I’d go by myself, but when you’re that young can be intimidating.

Leave a Reply

