tea and buttercream

I have a nervous stomach this morning.

In a few hours I’ll be starting to set up for one of the biggest events the museum runs all year. About 400+ people will be there, and I’ve spent the last three months organizing it, stressing over it, and now it’s here.

We are feeding everyone too, (which takes a lot of work and prep time) and there are about 30 different displays that we have also been working on, that will go up today as well.

However, none of that is what is worrying me. I know I’ll be fine overseeing the staff and volunteers, but there are two in particular that make me wish I could just stay in bed.

The previous curator and her mother.

While helpful, they are two of the most overpowering people I have ever met and I find my tongue numb from biting it so much after our encounters.

I think I’ve talked about this before, and mentioned how everyone basically thinks the previous curator hung the moon and for the first few months I was referred to as “The new (insert her name).” Things have  definitely improved, and maybe it’s all in my head, but I just have this feeling about today. Just wish I had some moral support with me today.

I think a large drink will be in order by this eve.

Well, time to head out and pick up the cakes. Let’s hope for a non clumsy day.  Come on, balance!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “tea and buttercream

  1. Mellowlee

    I wish I could be there Al. You are amazing! *hugs*

  2. Thanks, Mel. Needed that. You’ll have to come to the concert series I’m planning for this summer. :)

  3. Be happy that you’re not the same as the old boss. It’ll be fine!

  4. This is true. There were a few hiccups right from the gate, but the day ended well. I’m exhausted, but happy.

  5. I hope there weren’t too many tongue biting moments. That could get pretty painful. Glad to hear that it went so well! :)

  6. Not too many. Thankfully, I’m pretty good under pressure, I just vented and scream a lot when I come home. ;)

Leave a Reply

