it is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

Ah, the long  weekend.

Time to spend not doing work like things and sleeping in right?

I can never seem to master the sleeping in thing anymore, and I’m trying to get over a pesky stomach flu, so I’ve spent mine watching a lot of films, but I have good company, so all is not lost.

We started in with an old favourite, Princess Bride,  followed by Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and then I thought getting out of the house might help so we took in Hot Tub Time Machine, you know, feeling the need for stupid funny. Definitely a renter (should have seen How to Train Your Dragon), but you probably already knew that. Next up is Moon.

Do you have any good film recommends for a rainy weekend?

4 Comments

Filed under movies

4 responses to “it is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.

  1. f

    “A Prophet” is quite good.

    “The Hairdresser’s Husband” is brilliant and funny.

    And “A Heart In Winter” if you like melodrama.

    All of these require subtitles btw.

  2. Let’s stick with subtitled films, shall we? How about some of my favourites to cozy up to on a rainy weekend:
    [Rec] – for the horror buff in you
    The Edukators – for the revolutionary in you
    Let the Right One In – to see how vampire movies should be done

    So glad you are going to see Moon!!!!!!!

    I hope your tummy is recovering; I have never been able to do the sleeping in gig either, but I am secretly kinda keen to see Hot Tub Time Machine…

  3. f

    Ah, Let The Right One In is good, hollywood is doing a remake of it and are sure to screw it up.

  4. F: I’ve seen The Hairdresser’s Husband, and quite enjoyed it. I have not seen the others though, I will look out for them when we visit the video store today.

    Staying with the subtitles. I’ve had the hankering to watch a Peplum film, and something from Italy, so that works.

    Barb: Oh yes, The Edukators has been on the list. Thank-you for reminding me!

    I’ve seen Moon before, just watched it again. :) It was a Sam Rockwell day.

    I was curious to see HTTM too, but it was not clever funny, like Superbad, or the like. I enjoyed Daryl from The Office, but I guess I’m just not one for projectile vomit. I wanted a bit more from it. Asking too much, I guess.

    F: Why is everything a remake these days, eh? Kind of depressing that Hollywood keeps doing this. Thankfully we have alternatives.

Leave a Reply

