all the people going places, smiling with electric faces. what they find the glow erases, what they lose the glow replaces, and life is love.

I heard about Alex Chilton’s death yesterday from my dad via email.

I was shocked, he was gutted. Rightfully so, Chilton left a huge mark on music and will be missed greatly.

I’ve been listening to The Box Tops and Big Star from the womb, my earliest memories are dancing on the shag carpet in the living room to my parents record collection.

I think what’s hitting me most about this one, is that it’s racked my parents, too. I know when my dad gets wispy over the phone that its a big deal. I remember visiting Memphis when I was a teen, and him being positively giddy over all the music history. I hope to pass along as much enthusiasm to my offspring one day.

Perhaps because I’m getting older, or had a rough year of my own loved ones passing away, but I feel like this past year (in music especially) everyone is dying, and so young.

RIP Mr. Chilton.

2 Comments

Filed under honeybees, life, music

2 responses to “all the people going places, smiling with electric faces. what they find the glow erases, what they lose the glow replaces, and life is love.

  1. I was just starting to get familiar with his musical legacy, and I am still stunned. Too many in too short a time…

  2. I know, it was very shocking. Feel for his family, he was so young…

Leave a Reply

