chirp

Dear Blog,

I feel I must apologize. I’ve been neglecting you in favour of other social networking. I promise to be more attentive.

#badblogger

I’ve had a Twitter account since 2008, when I was living in Newcastle and looking for a way to avoid writing my dissertation. For the first year or so I really only used it to follow people, not putting information out there too much myself, it’s only been this year that I’ve really been more active with Twitter, and I’m not the only one. In the past year alone the average daily tweet has gone from 2 million to 50 million per day. That is a huge jump, wouldn’t you say?

I find people have such strong opinions on Twitter, and the people who seem to dislike it (or at least the ones I have encountered) have never really used it. I think it is a fabulous resource, I use it primarily for tracking news. I subscribe to my local papers, music magazines, record labels, artists, etc and have one place to go to gather most of my information.  What’s not to love?

There are also some really great celebrity Twitter accounts out there, which are very amusing to follow. These guys below in the clip are great, the MythBusters gang…oh the list goes on.

What about you? What do you think about Twitter?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “chirp

  1. i need to use the trending more…i always forget.

  2. Are you kidding? I just got dragged kicking and screaming onto facebook. I’m not in any rush to join twitter, more of a 800+ word girl, myself.

  3. I think it really depends what you use it for. I find its great resource to get information. One technology won’t replace the other; blogging is still around with FB and Twitter, its just another way to get info.

  4. bloody awful poetry

    Never caught on to Twitter myself, and I think it’s unlikely that I ever will. I do follow some people who manage to be funny in 140 characters though. Also, what is this trending phenomenon?

  5. I honestly don’t pay much attention to the trending. It aesthetically irks me. ;) I’ve used it in this post, but never on Twitter. Ha.

Leave a Reply

