well, after this i shall think nothing of falling down stairs

I took this on my phone as I was leaving today, the quality is kind of crappy, but you get the idea – stairs. With high raise! They are in the midst of being painted right now for the renovation. There is normally carpet the runs up the middle, and when we ripped it up today, found the middle was not painted when the house was converted to a museum in the 1980s. The hardwood in the middle is original to when the house was built in 1900, unlike the rest of the hardwood in the house, which was redone in the 1930s.

The things  a renovation uncovers. This is just the tip of the iceberg.  Lessons already learned? Doorways were much smaller back then. For this reason all of our shelving was constructed in the room where is was going to end up. Makes moving things now impossible.

But these stairs are a daily struggle for me with my Fibromyalgia, especially on a damp day. There is another set of them up, this set leads up to where my office is.  Yet, I love stairs in theory, perhaps I read too many Nancy Drew books as a child, but there is something comforting about a wooden staircase. I also love the idea of two staircases, in different parts of the house. I remember finding it very odd whenever I would visit my relatives in California and they all lived on one floor (no basements either). They also find it odd whenever they come to visit and have to remove their shoes in our homes, so I guess it all comes out in the wash.

Anyway, back to the stairs. I’m sad we don’t have the budget to redo the hardwood and have to paint, and put the carpet back down. Although with that rise, any form of liquid on the steps it turns into a slip n’ slide, so perhaps it is for the best.

I’d like to limit my Buster Keaton episodes to yearly, instead of weekly.

Make any discoveries today?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “well, after this i shall think nothing of falling down stairs

  1. f

    I discovered that Cheesecake Caramels are delicious and addicting.

  2. Twas my biggest mistake not buying two of those packages. ;)

  3. I don’t know how your resident giant gets about in that museum of yours without knocking his head many times a day. Houses of that vintage are certainly squashier.

    I (re)discovered that I really like spending time alone.

  4. iduality

    He’s gotten good at the head bend. His office is downstairs as well, so he doesn’t come upstairs as much.

    I just read your post. Alone time is key, it’s nice to have it be an option, instead of one always being alone. Enjoy your week. :)

  5. I watched a home reno show last night (blame my wife) and it was of an old house in Germany. Apparently a lot of old houses in Germany have old bugs from the Secret Service still hidden around. Hardwood’s a much more pleasant discovery, don’t you think?

  6. Nothing wrong with admitting to watching a home reno show. The Boy has me hooked on Holmes on Homes. ;) That is interesting about the German houses with the bugs though. It’s amazing what you uncover when doing a reno. Especially what has been used for insulation.

Leave a Reply

