lend me your hand, and we’ll conquer them all

I partook in Olympic mayhem today. Well, kind of. I had to go downtown to go to the doctors, so I figured I would meet up with a friend from back East who was visiting for the games. I had to cancel plans earlier in the week with them, because I’ve just been in too much pain, sitting and walking for extended periods of time, my body does not like. So seeing as I also can’t really drive at the moment, I took the train all the way downtown.

I was not the only other person who had this idea.

Never in my life have I seen so many people, outside of London, England, waiting in a que to take the train. I said to my friend I can only compare it to that time I was stuck in the tube after an Arsenal game, except this experience lasted a lot longer. It was a bit surreal, and I was glad I had taken extra painkillers with me.

I felt much more relaxed once I was able to get off the train, and head to the oasis of Granville Island market, outside of the hoopla, as it is one of my favourite places. Have you ever had the feeling of missing someone but they’re with you? Whenever I’m at the market, I miss it before I’ve even left. Perhaps it’s the abundant delicious smells, or the fact that if I sit out overlooking the water, I can catch a glimpse of English Bay, and my first flat in Van; spring showers, sunflowers and dark chocolate with raspberries.

I recall evenings spent down by the water talking with Ash, walking over the Burrard Street bridge before there was all this fancy transit and I had to laugh when she called me this afternoon, while I was on the island, and chastised me for not coming to visit her in Yaletown, which is literally just across the water from Granville. So close, but so far, I said. I relented in the end, as tea was promised.

There is something about this view, and an old friend, who will tell you if you have rugelach stuck to your chin that makes my heart warm, and the pain less.  I wish they were both closer.

4 Comments

Filed under food and such, friends, home, honeybees

4 responses to “lend me your hand, and we’ll conquer them all

  1. Anticipatory nostalgia is no stranger to me. Missing someone while I am still right beside them is actually quite a common part of my existence, and yet I don’t find that quite as hard as missing a place before you leave it. Perhaps because I know when I go back to that place, it will be changed somehow, and that perfect moment that I am determined to remember will never again be repeated. You have more of a chance of that with people.

    Lovely post, my friend, one which got me musing.

  2. Phew. So it’s not just me. True, places tend to change more than people, although I guess it depends on how far between visits in either case.

    Thank-you. I can’t wait to visit Granville when you visit next month! You will have to go on an empty stomach. ;)

  3. I know this feeling. And, it’s a beautiful place, isn’t it? ;-)

Leave a Reply

