nylon

This week I’ve accessioned a collection of 1930s women’s lingerie. Mostly slips. The embroidery is very detailed, and they really are quite lovely, so although it’s been a bit tedious sewing accession numbers into them, I’m happy with how everything has turned out.

We have some other pieces that would go well with the collection so I’m thinking about doing an “underwear” exhibit in the fall. Our research files are full of old ads just like this. I think it could work. Thoughts?

4 Comments

Filed under curator chronicles

4 responses to “nylon

  1. Absolutely! That ad is fabulous and I would certainly want to take in that exhibition.

    Love the tagline on that ad too – they walk in beauty. Somehow it belies what the reality of women’s lives no doubt was. Much like today’s lingerie ads, come to think of it.

  2. iduality

    I love the tagline, too.

    I think it would be really interesting to show a timeline of sorts on the wall in the parlour (now the temporary gallery, where the wedding dress was), of different ads from catalogues, and then use the cases and floor space for the mannequins.

    Now, must finish the photography exhibit first! ;)

  3. I think it’s a great idea. It shouldn’t surprise you that I love looking at old ads. The women in this ad remind me of old pin-up calendars drawings – style that I just love.

    Anyway, I think that it could be a really great exhibit – you could probably have a ton of fun with it. :)

  4. There is just a great design aesthetic to old ads, I imagine you can draw a lot of inspiration from.

    Me too, I’m more excited to start working on that exhibit then the one I am currently. Ha!

Leave a Reply

