like a mountain

I haven’t been too vocal here about the upcoming Olympic games in Vancouver. Because once I start in on the subject, it gets me so angry, I can’t even see straight.

The first summer I moved to Vancouver is the summer they got the Olympics, now six years later it’s on our doorstep, and I find myself in an interesting place working in the Arts community, not in Vancouver, but in what is still considered the “metro” area. I am so very lucky to even be here, as provincial cuts to my sector were announced just two weeks after I was offered this job. I know for a fact working where I am now, they would have pulled the posting knowing they were going to lose 35% of their income. To a non-profit organization that is huge.

There are many other issues surrounding the games, that the rest of the country seems to just now be waking up too, and how horribly everything has been handled. From now on when people ask my why I’m upset the situation I’m going to refer them to this clip. Please jump to halfway through, 4.45 to be exact.

When he mentions communities outside of Vancouver (where I live and work), I also I can’t help but think of my time spent in Northern BC and seeing first hand the horribly unequal spread of wealth when it comes to anything really, but especially local schools, heritage organizations, etc. There is Vancouver, which gets 92% of any government funding, and then everything else. Do you know how large this province is?

So more than anything, I’m just frustrated. Frustrated that attention is not being paid where it should be. I knew years ago choosing a career path in heritage would be difficult, but it seems to be getting worse.

Still, I’m hopeful. Why?

Well, I sat tonight, as I do every third Thursday of the month, chairing a programing event that we put on for the members of our historical society, but is also open to the public. It’s a lecture series, different speakers every month, usually draws 40 people tops. Tonight, standing room only as close to 100 people crammed into the hall. After I introduced everything, I got to make my way to the back of the room and stand against the wall and listen to a story about local history, which was actually quite fascinating. Reminding me that it is definitely true; towns make the cities, not the other way around. Yet nobody usually ever stops to ask where it all started.

My friend asked me the other day if I was going to move into Van soon. I smiled and said no, I like my view from here; the fringe.

2 Comments

Filed under canada, curator chronicles, home, politics

2 responses to “like a mountain

  1. I watched the whole thing actually, because Matt Good is always worth listening to. You are both so right, about the exclusivity of the Olympics, and how the rest of the province is not only ignored, but will bear the burden of these games.

    I wasn’t aware about the muzzle order that musicians had to sign. Scary.

    Excellent news about your great turnout for the local history lecture. What was the topic?

  2. Yes he is. That is the thing that gets me the most, how the rest of the province is paying for it. I remember last year, working up north, getting a letter saying the Van Art gallery had received 68M, and the left over 8M was distributed to the rest of the province, and sorry but were we no longer being funded for this project (school program) etc, etc. Just frustrating, and I think the years to come will be equally so.

    I wasn’t aware about the musician contracts either! He makes a good point about Wilco.

    I’ll message you about the topic, I fear people unearthing this space as it’s one of those searchable things. :)

Leave a Reply

