harrington

At my job I’m often designing posters and adverts for the events that we run. And by often, I mean all the time.

Of course these always have to pass the committee/board that is running that event with me. I always find it amusing that the things I work on the longest usually get picked apart the most, and the posters I whip out in under 5 mins get all the praise.

This week I’ve been working on a series of different ads for our biggest event. Along with the ads there is a ‘save the date’ card, which is handed out at the event, as I reminder for when next years will take place. The image used on this card is then used on the poster the following year.

Well, until now.

Going through the files I found the graphic they’d used for the cards last year, and made up a poster. I happened to like the graphic, and happily went along working on text…blah, blah…poster done.

I then found out a few new graphics for the save the date card and literally put it together just for the meeting to have something to pass around the table, I didn’t like it, full intention of changing it later.

Turns out, they didn’t like the graphic on the poster but loved the save the date cards I made.

I starred back at the committee, totally puzzled, as they would have been the ones to have chosen the graphic last year. Why did they have a problem now. I asked  just that, and they completely denied having anything to do with it. Right. I checked the minutes, liars.

Anyway, new poster, not a big deal, I just found it funny they liked something I spent 5 mins working on, opposed to a couple of hours.

I think I’m going to start applying the least amount of effort to all my work and see if it has the same result.

Perhaps if I draw on my grant applications they will send more money.

8 Comments

Filed under curator chronicles

8 responses to “harrington

  1. El Capitan

    Complete all grant applications in crayon, I say. Any chance we could get pictures of the 2 graphics to go with this story?

  2. Ha ha! And I could change the colour every other word.

    Rather not, just as its for work. Nothing exciting anyway. The argument was over the fact that the first graphic was more along the lines of a mug, and the event is for a tea. The things old people like to pick at. I liked it as it was animated, and I’d placed the event info on the mug itself.

    Ah well, I went with a teapot to make the old ladies happy. @-@

  3. Not really a ringing endorsement for striving to be creative and putting some thoughtfulness into your work! You should contract some paint wielding monkeys to make the next poster and see if they prefer that.

    oh, BTW – thinking about the rally still – will get back to you tonight on e-mail about this, just need to sort a few things out first.

  4. Not at all. I really feel like I’m hitting my head against the wall here sometimes. They tend to stick with tradition, and the same old, same old, which is frustrating when you’re trying to add something new. I will have to place a call into the monkeys before our next meeting. ;)

    Sounds good. If you can’t make it, no worries, we’ll have to arrange to do something else soon though!

  5. Perhaps you are so innately creative that the work flows directly from your hand to the paper. It’s in your DNA, doesn’t require any thought process. Like me and calculus. Okay, the opposite of that, actually.

  6. Ha! If only that were the case. I have been feeling quite creative as of late though. Tonight I made a felt story. Branching out in my mediums. ;)

  7. haha… Good thing you can laugh about it or you wouldn’t have any hair left. ;-)

  8. yes, having a sense of humour is a key requirement with the job. :)

Leave a Reply

