oh, my little mocking bird sing!

With December now officially underway and the slow leaks of 2010 releases starting to emerge, I really must get to my top 25 of 2009. I have the list all ready to go, just a matter of linking things up, so I promise to get to that shortly.

In the meantime, here’s the track “One Life Stand” from the latest Hot Chip album, due out February 2010. It’s a much slower tune than their back catalogue, but the hook is still there. I’m still interested in hearing what the whole album sounds like.

And in case you haven’t already heard it, the new Spoon song “Written in Reverse”, which is sure to get stuck in your head in the best possible way.

2009 was a great year for music, but I’m very much looking forward to 2010. New Arcade Fire perhaps?

6 Comments

Filed under new music

6 responses to “oh, my little mocking bird sing!

  1. f

    I wasn’t impressed with that Hot Chip track, hope there are better ones on the album.

    And you know how I feel about Spoon ;)

    2010 is looking to be great as far as music is concerned… Beastie Boys, Spoon, Vampire Weekend…. and probably Arcade Fire, Radiohead, White Stripes… and maybe if we are lucky Rolling Stones and David Bowie.

  2. iduality

    Yeah, it is a bit slow, and lacks punch. I’m hopeful that the whole album doesn’t sound like that. So far they haven’t disappointed me.

    That I do. ;)

    A year would not be complete without Jack White putting out an album! New Bowie, you say? This intrigues me. Fingers crossed.

  3. bloody awful poetry

    Arcade Fire! According to stereogum anyway. Also i think there is new Basia Bulat, The National, Beck and Final Fantasy, which I particularly look forward to =) New MGMT in the works too, but I have never really been able to get their music at all.

  4. It’s about time…three years is a long wait Arcade Fire! Ah yes, very much looking forward to The National and Beck as well. I saw the new FF up on Stereogum (I think?) must get back to listen. Still bummed his show got canceled here.

  5. 2009 was a stellar year for new music. And for me it was a stellar year for newly discovered music as well.

    I haven’t started mulling over my lists yet, but it’s on the list!

  6. Indeed, I have a couple newly discovered bands on my list this year as well.

    Ha! Well, I look forward to it. :)

Leave a Reply

