if I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am now

There are certain movies that when you happen upon them on telly you just have to sit and watch them all the way through, no matter how many times you’ve seen them. Christmas Vacation is one of those movies for me.

My job is 65% event planning, so my concept of time is a bit skewed these days, as I’m already planning next year, and I break for the holidays in just over three weeks so that time of year is fast approaching for me. Usually after the American Thanksgiving you start to see the flood of holiday movies fill the television listings, and I saw and advert for Christmas Vacation last night and I couldn’t help but think how my life would be made if I was able to get my hands on these moose mugs.

I joke that my father is Clarke Griswold, and in all seriousness, it’s true. John Hughes hit the nail on the head when creating that character and Chevy Chase’s delivery is spot on. I’m sure I’m not the only one who identifies with the Griswold family, it’s part of the charm of the movies, and what makes them classics.

I remember last year around this time when I dug out my DVDs and announced to the Boy it was time to watch Christmas Vacation, and he admitted to never having seen any of them. After I picked my jaw up off the ground I told him if he was going to survive my family it was good to know a few things – that the Griswold’s are the best fictional representation of my family and you will at some point hear this speech from my father:

Well, I’ll tell you something. This is no longer a vacation! It’s a quest! It’s a quest for fun. I’m going to have fun and you’re going to have fun. We’re all going to have so much fucking fun, we’ll need plastic surgery to remove our goddamn smiles. You’ll be whistling zippity-doo-dah out of your assholes!

I felt it only fair to prepare the fellow for what he’s about to step into. When I’m back east next we’re going away on a short mini break with the parentals. I expect stories to come from that. As my family has one switch (go!) and the Boy operates on more of a laid back level. At the very least it will make for good blog talk.

What films can you watch year after year?

11 Comments

Filed under family, holidays, movies

11 responses to “if I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am now

  1. A Christmas classic indeed. Above and beyond being hilarious, the movie does a tremendous job capturing the often futile effort made to curtail dysfunctional familial patterns in order to provide the “perfect” Christmas experience, though of course Clarke Griswold takes it to a whole new level.

    Of course, I think you need to get the moose mug as well – and have some goddamn fun while you are at it!

  2. It’s those futile efforts that stick with you the most, and really what makes the movies so enjoyable isn’t? Often times now, on the rare occasion that my family is all together, we laugh can laugh over past vacations or instances were attempts at “perfection” have failed. Usually involving cooking disasters.

    I’m considering purchasing the plastic ones, the glass ones are horribly overpriced. ;)

  3. f

    So your job is 65% event planning, 20% fixing others mistakes, 10% actual work and 5% singing ABBA tunes before the rest of the staff get back from lunch?

    As for movies that I always watch year after year, there are quite a few some of them are….
    Princess Bride
    Fight Club
    The first Matrix (2 and 3 don’t exist…la la la not listening)

    …and the movie that captivates me even if I just saw it yesterday is Shawshank Redemption.

  4. iduality

    Well, probably closer to 50% but event planning/programming is rubbish and more work than actual work, and I just don’t enjoy it. But the rest of your calculations are pretty close. Although right now as far as staff, it’s me and one other and I sing just below the volume of the Harry Potter books on tape coming from down the hall that I do not disturb anyone. Works perfectly. ;) This might change when our summer students arrive…

    With you on Shawshank Redemption. Whenever it comes on I have watch it. And I also choose to believe the 2nd and 3rd Matrix films don’t exist. Somethings are just best left with one volume.

  5. I was planning on watching that tonight! Definite must see every holiday. Though not all the NL Vacation movies are created equal…

    Another Christmas must see for me is Scrooged.

  6. Our movie timing is in sync! No, you’re very right. I only watch Vacation and Christmas Vacation.

    Ah yes, a good Billy Murray holiday fix. Good choice. I haven’t seen that in years. I should dig it out of the vault.

  7. So the Boy was unaware that he was getting involved with the Griswalds when he signed up? Man, that’s a deal-breaker.

    But all kidding aside, and getting back to the serious question on the table, the Christmas films that I MUST see every year are the aforementioned Christmas Vacation and A Christmas Story. Which should be required viewing the continent over.

    Non-Christmas films I could rewatch anytime:
    Local Hero
    Shaun of the Dead
    Die Fette Jahren Sind Vorbei

  8. Ha! ;)

    Yes, those two should be required viewing. I am looking forward to watching them this year.

    It’s been ages since I’ve watched Shaun of the Dead! I must change this. Stat.

  9. I love Christmas Vacation! My 15 year old has picked up on that tradition, much to the dismay of my wife. ;-)

  10. Ha! Excellent, glad to see the tradition being passed down against the odds. ;)

  11. I found your blog because the title quote summarizes large sections of my life. I used “If I woke up with my head sewn…” in a post I wrote earlier this week, so I’m very pleased that it receives such wide acclaim. I may have to go home now and rewatch the movie.

Leave a Reply

