you know when we sat out on the fire escape talking…what did you say about running before we were walking

I’ve been trying to formulate my weekend into thoughts, and further into sentences, but alas my brain is just not working. I am exhausted, but in the best possible way. Filled with good food, great musical listening and shining memories of dear friend visits over too soon.

So instead of rambling, some music…

p.s. Seeing Billy Bragg last night at the Commodore in Vancouver was brilliant. He is the perfect combination of storytelling and tenacity you want in a folk singer. A superb concert all-around, and well worth price of admission.

4 Comments

Filed under friends, happiness, music

4 responses to “you know when we sat out on the fire escape talking…what did you say about running before we were walking

  1. Bill Bragg really is the ultimate performer, isn’t he? And the glory of it is, he firmly believes everything he says.

    It was such a wonderful weekend for me as well. I am so glad we got to see your little corner of the world yesterday. Thank you for everything. You KNOW I will be back.

  2. He really is. I was completely blown away, and I would see him again in a heartbeat.

    I am so happy to have been able to see you over the whole weekend, it’s going to be weird not seeing you today! It was nice to have you guys over last night as well, and I’m glad you enjoyed dinner too. I’m equally glad I have leftovers for myself tonight and must try that fondue soon. :) Can’t wait for the next visit!

  3. Agreed, Billy Bragg is a great performer. I liked the “softy” vs “politico” dichotomy that he presented regarding his songs, as it reflects the delicate balance of the personal and political that plays out in our lives. His humour is also great, adding a very human element to what he does.

    I was still humming “A New England” the next morning!

  4. Agreed. He played the balance perfectly. I especially enjoyed the stories of his son, and him learning how to play the guitar and figuring out riffs, etc. I would pay just to sit and listen to him talk. ;)

    I’m still humming today. We’ll have to definitely do it again!

Leave a Reply

