two turntables and a gingerbread house

I don’t think  last years house even compares to this one.

Not completely finished, due to time constraints the polar bear will have to be added at a later date. As every little gingerbread house needs a bit of chaos to make the magic come to life. Although we got the ball rolling here with the gingerbread men climbing the roof.

Next year, we’re going for a two-story.

IMG_2998

IMG_2988

IMG_3001Materials used:

Roof – pretzels

House Siding – fondant (blue) and buttercream icing

House Front – chocolate pebbles and buttercream icing

Tree – gumpaste and fondant

Pathway – satin hard candies and candy corn

Pond and bridge – icing, pretzels and chocolate pebbles

17 Comments

Filed under food and such, geekery

17 responses to “two turntables and a gingerbread house

  1. f

    Looks amazing! Great work!

    I have a question though, are gingerbread houses suppose to be 100% edible or are they just for looks. Also, do you build them on a piece of cardboard or tinfoil or ???

  2. I guess it depends on preference. This one is 100% edible. It’s also part of the fun to keep it something you can eat. Buying the pre-made houses in the grocery store, which we had to do because of time worked, we used that for basic structure, and then we added the fondant, pretzels, etc and our own ideas.

    Yes, you need to build them on a base. Last year we used a cookie sheet, with tinfoil over top, but found it too small. This year we took a large piece of card board and then wrapped some decorative paper around it, taped it underneath and presto – base!

  3. Jaw-droppingly amazing. I especially love the stonework on the house. Did you say those were chocolate pebbles? There is such a glorious thing? I want a house made of chocolate pebbles.

    And the snow is lovely as well! Well it’s all lovely! You guys really outdid yourself, and I think this is a lovely tradition to be starting.

  4. Thank-you. Yes, I didn’t know there was such a thing either until we were wandering through Bulk Barn and the Boy suggested them. He did the stonework, very well done. The back of the house is also in chocolate pebbles.

    Me too. Already thinking about next years. Thinking of a waffle roof…but in peaks! :)

  5. This is really well done Allison. The secret is to have an elfen helper along for the ride. (Or at least to hold the walls until the sugar dries.) My son and I build one every year and the tradition is a great one to keep up. Admittedly I will be stealing some of your ideas this year. (The pretzels look amazing!)

    How are you going to resist nibbling though? Christmas is still so far off!

    Thanks for sharing, you both did such a great job. What was on the stereo to inspire as you constructed?

    s

  6. I make 2 or 3 with my kids every year. Tragically, the houses are usually destroyed within 10 minutes of completion. ;-)

  7. iduality

    Sean: Thanks! And yes, it is nice to have someone to help along the way, as the icing can be temperamental. ;) I love the pretzels too, you could try shreddies, they’d have the shingle effect, which is what we were going for. You’ll have to post pictures of yours when its done.

    Well, the gingerbread house is in Toronto and I’m in Vancouver. Makes it hard to break a piece off to snack on.

    Metric, their latest…and then some HGTV. ;)

    Whitenoise: It’s a fun tradition, even more is eating the candy whilst making the house. Ha! Well that is the best part. :)

  8. f

    Thanks for the info. I would make one 100% edible, too. Perhaps some day I will get up the gumption and gumdrops to try.

  9. You’re welcome. You could do a gingerbread pirate ship even. ;)

  10. I know I told you already, but I am sooo impressed! Do you make the fondant? I’ve considered it in the past but apparently you can buy it… although I’ve never found where!

  11. Divine! I would love to shrink to minature size and live in such a delightful little cottage – just need to make sure there is no roof snacking during the rainy season.

  12. bloody awful poetry

    It’s gorgeous, and I want to eat it.

    Also, there are such things as chocolate pebbles? Seriously. The things you Canadians get up to.

  13. f

    After seeing that picture of gojira taking a bite of the house, I think you should do a disaster themed ginger house some time. Maybe with a giant evil Gingeroboticon attacking and little gingers running around screaming or sommat.

  14. Westcoast Walker: Thanks! Yes, it would be to lovely to live in such a place, especially with this rubbish weather we’ve been having. A nice candy corn pathway to come home to would be most welcome. :)

    BAP: Indeed, there are. I did not know there was such a thing either. They are quite impressive, with a crispy centre. I know, we have a lot of time on our hands during the long winter. ;)

    Fearless: Ha ha ha! Gingeroboticon. I can see that scene playing out quite well actually, we like a little chaos with the baking. Good idea. :)

  15. Fleur – in case you come back and check this (your comment went into my spam folder), you can buy fondant at Michaels craft store. :) Doesn’t taste as nice, but comes in a variety of colours.

  16. Beverly

    We make an edible house every year and it is made from a chocolate chip cookie dough. The kids like it more than gingerbread. I used fondant for the first time, this year. I made siding for the house. Tomorrow my granddaughter will help decorate it. We are doing it late this year, we usually have it done before Christmas.

  17. Pingback: why one should carry a compass in the forest | flying buttresses

Leave a Reply

