it’s going to be a place where only the things you want to happen, would happen.

I went to see Where The Wild Things Are tonight.

Quite enjoyable, may have even shed a tear or two at the end. Who can resist a group howl?

It was like a bowl of nostalgia, spilled…

I will be humming the soundtrack for the rest of the weekend, I am sure. Here are two songs off the soundtrack.

Worried Shoes – Karen O and the Kids

Building All is Love – Karen O and the Kids

Here’s hoping your weekends are filled with howl-type moments.

8 Comments

Filed under films, literature, music

8 responses to “it’s going to be a place where only the things you want to happen, would happen.

  1. A group howl! I think we should implement those at all our meetings for the next month.

    I quite liked the songs. Ms O has certainly stepped up to the plate for this soundtrack, I think, and I am looking forward to seeing the film and hearing the rest for myself.

  2. Done, and done! :)

    It’s defintely been her year, and speaking of howling she does some guest vocals on the new Flaming Lips record in the same fashion.

  3. Marna

    I love the book. Well, really what’s not to love? The illustrations are amazing. I wasn’t sure I wanted to see the movie when I saw the trailers but the reviews so far have been very positive so I’m thinking I need to check it out especially now that I’ve listened to two of the soundtracks.

  4. When I was working in England I got to see some of the artwork up close. Brilliant. I was worried about it ruining the book, but felt it lived up to the hype.

  5. f

    la la la not listening, not listening… I’m going to see it Wednesday, so until then…la la la not listening…

  6. Okay til Wednesday…enjoy the la la la not listening dance until then. ;)

  7. I have to admit, I was really pleasantly surprised by Karen O’s efforts this time out. Although I have not seen the movie yet I would think the music accompaniment will be a great complement to the visuals.

    I’m really glad Spike Jonze chose to use one artist for the entire record rather than a slew of current indie hopefuls. It would have felt too opportunistic. This one though is special.

    I think I mentioned to you too, that for some reason you immediately come to mind when I listen to this. That’s a good thing.

  8. iduality

    It’s funny, I tried listening to the album before seeing the film and it didn’t click. Yet as soon as I got home Friday night, I put this on and I’ve had it on repeat since. Perhaps I wasn’t in the mood for it before…it’s definitely a niche soundtrack. I’m glad he went with one artist for the whole thing as well, felt much more complete, and added that texture other soundtracks seem to lack trying to be everything all at once.

    Yes, you did mention that to me. I’ve handclap branded myself! ;)

    I hope you enjoy the film!

Leave a Reply

