under pressure

bar

It’s that time of year, the barometer goes all wonky and my head feels like it’s going to explode.

I love fall, but not on days like this. Today I actually lost vision in my left eye from the onset of a migraine and had to go to the hospital.

It was kind of scary only being able to see out of one eye…

Rethinking that pirate costume for Hallowe’en.

I’ve spent the rest of the day in bed (thank goodness for black-out curtains), and I guess I have no choice but to take this medication the doctor prescribed last time I was at home, although it’s quite serious. I can’t keep hulling up in my room every time the atmospheric pressure changes.

Although I am getting really good at watching tv with my eyes closed.

Shh. I’m listening to How I Met Your Mother.

I hope everyone else is having a better Monday.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “under pressure

  1. bloody awful poetry

    Ok wait – so atmospheric pressure changes in autumn? Like that drastically? I may have to rethink this whole moving to Canada thing.

    Sorry about your eye. And your head =( Feel better soon. And listening to the television is actually a very stimulating exercise (as long as it doesn’t make your migraine worse, that is).

  2. I don’t know how drastically, but for me whenever the weather shifts my head goes bananas.

    Thanks, feeling a bit better today. More of a dull headache. I do enjoy listening to the television, its soothing if on a low volume.

  3. Yoiks, that is so scary! I wish I could come over and describe the action on tv for you and give you some of these incredible cherry tomatoes that my neighbour brought over last night. They heal everything.

    I’m thinking of you. Get better soon and I really hope the new meds help.

  4. iduality

    Those cherry tomatoes sound lovely! I must pick some up tonight…I do love tomatoes.

    Feeling better, but still have a headache. Me too, will take a while to adjust, but hope things improve.

  5. god, allison, that sounds dreadful. Take the meds and take it easy. Losing vision in one eye? Perhaps a scan is in order

  6. I know other people who suffer from this sort of affliction, and yet they fly- where the pressure changes are even more drastic… makes me wonder if there’s more to it- the cool dampness, perhaps?

    Hope you’re feeling better.

  7. GT: I had one in a few months ago, and the recommendation…meds. Hopefully they work….

    Whitenoise: The triggers are different for everyone. Pressure changes is just one of them. Lights set me off the most, and any sudden movements. Its like my eyes cannot adjust fast enough.

    Feeling better today, still a headache, but much better. Thanks.

  8. I suffer from this same condition, only to a far lesser degree. I really do feel for you my friend and hope you are feeling much better now. Losing vision in one eye must have been positively terrifying… (Unless this was just a sympathetic reaction to the bad tempered zombie’s current ocular condition! ;) )

    I think we had all better just move to Mexico and leave these damned pressure systems behind.

    Getter better soon my friend.

    s

  9. iduality

    Still have a headache when I wake up, but so much better. It’s rough, as you know. Ha ha! Perhaps it was sympathy pains for Barb. ;)

    I’m with you on that. I am already thinking about my next move and how I can avoid such systems. :)

Leave a Reply

