corn is the devil

Is what my friend Mel jokingly yelled at the market on Friday night, her thoughts after being told to watch the documentary King of Corn by the Boy.

Fast forward to last night, we’re sitting down at the cinema to watch The Informant! the latest Soderbergh film. I hadn’t even seen a trailer, so I knew nothing about it. The first words of the film are along the lines of, corn is in everything, it’s everywhere.

I couldn’t help but chuckle, and continued to for the rest of the picture. I recommend this film for its brilliant cast of characters, and its amusing voice over dialogue.

Polar bears cover their noses before they pounce on a seal. How do polar bears know their noses are black? Did they look in the water one day, see their reflection and say, “Man, I’d be invisible if it wasn’t for that thing.”

4 Comments

Filed under films

4 responses to “corn is the devil

  1. liz

    ooooo, thx for the reminder! wanna see this, o for another weekend day!

  2. iduality

    It’s good, see it if you get the chance! Yes, I think the three day weekend needs to be put into affect. :)

  3. Yelling about the demon characteristics of corn is a suitable, if somewhat unusual, substitute for being serenaded by the reigning beauty queen of violin pop. Long live subversive declarations in produce markets!

    I do want to see The Informant. Much buzz, much buzz.

  4. iduality

    Ha ha ha! We did manage to have an eventful eve, despite concert cancellations that is for sure.

    I hadn’t heard anything about it. Then again I’ve had my head in the sand a bit.

Leave a Reply

