dynamite walls

Are you tired?

Me too.

I just wrote  the second step-by-step instruction guide on how to import photographs into our database for the admin staff to use when I leave. The first, with 30 steps wasn’t detailed enough, apparently. Would you believe it now takes over 40 steps? To import a photograph. One. Writing computer instructions is such a tedious job, I’m glad I don’t have to do it daily.

I have two more manuals to write this afternoon and then I get to run another workshop tomorrow on how to accession artifacts.

My boss keeps telling me I’m very patient when dealing with luddites, but I fear I’m at the breaking point. You know when you can see the end to something (cough, next Friday at 2pm, cough) and everything in between then is just an annoyance?

I think I need more happy go-to music to listen to at the office.

Tonight, I’m going to go a little hike to this place. On the weekend, going to hike this one again. I did it in the winter, but I’d like to make it further this time.

What’s everyone else up to these days?

2 Comments

Filed under curator chronicles

2 responses to “dynamite walls

  1. I love the trail descriptions. There is something so immediate about being told to close the gate behind you damn it when you are merely looking at the website still.

    This one sounded particularly appealing, as I love a terrain where I can break an ankle or that of a small child: accessible for children and all who can walk a rough, slippery trail

    You must be counting the minutes (perhaps in excruciating step by step detail till next Friday. I foresee a pub in your future.

  2. Allison

    I enjoyed that line too. :) Sadly, didn’t make it to the trail due to weather, and throwing out my back. Hopefully things clear up this weekend.

    I foresee a pint of cider in my future as well, but not until I get to Van. I finish in the afternoon, and then we start the 12 hour drive to the lower mainland. One week to go!

Leave a Reply

