welcome

it wasn’t the police tape, the dozen officers standing down the block, the ambulance or the even helicopter and tv crew that made me pause before entering into the building. it was the billowing cloud of smoke rising a few hundred yards away from the chaos that made me ponder…perhaps this isn’t the flat or area for me.

my thoughts were reinforced by the Boy’s saucer-like eyes, as if to say, there is no way in hell we’re leaving the car. however, i met the saucer eyes with a gentle eye roll of come on, it can’t be that bad. i mean i’ve lived in sketchy places before, downtown. how could the burbs be worse?

all this was communicated without speaking as though we were some type of undercover operation. i knew if i didn’t exit the car immediately he soon would insist on hand signals in case we stumbled into something worse than what was greeting us.

thankfully it never came to that. in fact, the place was already taken. so we ran walked back to the car and continued on.

i did manage to find a cozy place without bars on the windows, very close to my new place of work, which is awesome by the way. i have my own office overlooking the fraser river and a proper desk chair and new computer (handclaps). more stories of my weekend adventures in metro vancouver to come…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “welcome

  1. While it’s rather a shame that you won’t be moving into a place that practically guarantees a plethora of fascinating blog posts, replacing those factors with comfort, proximity to work, and a lack of window bars is okay too.

    You have a window in your office? You have an office? Can’t wait to hear more about these wondrous things.

  2. Allison

    I still think I’m going to have some interesting stories from my new place. Not as amazing as the wilds of the north, of course. ;)

    Indeed, I do. I have an office here too…but it doubles as library, storage and general crap room. I’m excited, I really like the museum…big shoes to fill though.

  3. f

    Congratulations on the new place, hope things keep going in this positive direction for ya.

  4. Allison

    Thanks! I’m pretty chuffed about post university living, wherein I got to buy an actual bed, not a futon with cardboard stuffed under the mattress to prevent it from sinking. Its the little things…

    I think September will be a good month for fresh starts, and interesting developments for many of us. :)

  5. bloody awful poetry

    You keep moving around so much I’ve lost track of what country you’re in. But yes! Handclaps for the new computer!

  6. Allison

    Ha ha! Well, I’m currently living in Northern British Columbia (Canada), soon to be moving to the lower mainland, which would be Vancouver, BC. I plan to stay there for a while. :)

  7. the desk chairs that our mom use are always leather based instead of using cloth covers”;-

  8. when using desk chairs, i would always prefer to use wood instead of plastic desk chairs ~”-

Leave a Reply

