and then the puck went flying

What’s your favourite board game?

I have a few but my favourite go-to still remains Trivial Pursuit, and I am very surprised that it did not make the list here – the top 8 classic board games that destroy friendships.

In short:

8) Mouse Trap

7) Cranium

6) Battleship

5) Risk

4) Monopoly

3) Scrabble

2) Candyland

1) Checkers

In my early university days we used to play drunken Risk, and that got so heated I vowed never to play again. However, the Boy is a board game junkie and convinced me to we play. So we did. Once. Needless to say that was the last time. There is something about that game and the male brain that just does not make it fun for me. Although I’m sure he’d say the same about me. Still I enjoy word games more, like Scrabble or Apples to Apples.

Oh, and has anyone actually ever ended a game of Monopoly?

Now this…this is game I want to try.

6 Comments

Filed under stuff and things

6 responses to “and then the puck went flying

  1. f

    The thing about RISK is there is one strategy that will allow you to win again and again as long as other players don’t team up against you – The Australian Gambit – capture Australia at the beginning of the game make a strong hold there, and slowly, and the key is slowly take over the world. There is only one way in and out of Australia, so it’s easy to keep it fortified.

    The other thing is that the male brain is easily distracted, so if the boy gets upset at losing, just take your shirt off and he’ll be fine.

  2. I have actually completed games of Monopoly. Mind you some of them took several days, a few skating party breaks, and a whole lot of illicit substances to reach completion.

    I am stunned that Crokinole did not make this list. There’s a classic Canadian board game, involving curlingesque moves and strategies, and often bloodletting.

  3. bloody awful poetry

    I’m still young, mind you, so things may change. But I have yet to complete a full game of Monopoly. People are hell-bent on carrying grudges and reminding everyone of everyone else’s past transgressions. I almost give up hope, really.

  4. Allison

    Fearless: I will have to keep this in mind if I ever play again. Both tactics. ;)

    Barb: So that is the trick to completing Monopoly?

    Yes! I love Crokinole. Wow. I haven’t played that in years. Always gets very heated, doesn’t?

    BAP: So I’m not the only one. Phew. ;)

  5. Great summer post. I think scrabble is my face

  6. Allison

    scrabble is one of the best.

Leave a Reply

