midweek midmorning

So this little old lady comes into the museum yesterday.

Its 36’C out,  I offer her some water and look suspiciously at the leather bound book she has in her hand.

“My dear, I was wondering if you’d be able to take this from me?”

Its an American encyclopedia from 1968.

I tell her that I’m sorry, but we can’t accept it as it has no provenance here. She’s upset because she just wants to get rid of it. I tell her that I can take of it if she wants, as I am disposing of other things that afternoon. She is grateful, thanks me, I refill her dixie cup with water and the day goes on.

So this afternoon I come back from lunch to find 75 leather bound encyclopedias on my desk.

I yelled “what the fuck” to an empty room and then raced downstairs.

My students heard me coming (my shoes squeak) and by the time I rounded the corner both had there hands in the air, pointing at each other.

“She was old, and its hot out. We couldn’t tell her no. She and her husband brought them in themselves.”

Fair enough. I wouldn’t have made her take them back either.

So now we have 75 encyclopedias to dispose of. Someone thankfully has already claimed one set. The other is incomplete by one book (the one I disposed of yesterday), so one of my students offered to climb into the huge dumpster and get it back. I told him, no, that was not required of him, as we are more than likely going to have to get rid of the set due to condition. My boss, who hears this conversation says, “Well, if he’s offering…”

So now I have a student dumpster diving.

And a boss watching on in laughter.

Still, I think its the little old lady getting the last laugh here.

9 Comments

Filed under curator chronicles

9 responses to “midweek midmorning

  1. It was really nice of you to give that sneaky old lady a dixie cup of water, but I really think that she and her husband deserve some kind of Olympic medal for hauling 75 encyclopedia into your office. That’s hard core.

    Did you get her phone number? Because I have some junk I would like to surreptitiously get rid of .

  2. Well, apparently staff brought them into the museum. Still, they would have somehow had to get them here in the first place, so yes, kudos to them!

  3. f

    Where is this museum? I have a crapload of crap to get rid of.

    You need to take notes from this lady, it will serve you well when you have your cane and hoveround.

  4. I’ll pass along the location once my contract ends. ;)

    Indeed I do. Something tells me she’ll be back. I’ll have my notebook ready. I cannot wait until I can get away with things purely based on age again.

  5. 1968! Wow, that’s vintage!

    With the internet, does anyone still publish an encyclopedia I wonder?

  6. vintage, indeed.

    that is a good question…you know, i am not sure. you’d think so though. have to have something in the library. :)

  7. strawberry-blondie

    Bwahahahahaha. That is all.

  8. Exceptional site, where did you come up with the info in this summary? I’m happy I found it though, ill be checking back soon to see what other articles you have.

  9. Thank you a lot for giving everyone an extraordinarily spectacular possiblity to read articles and blog posts from this blog. It really is very awesome plus jam-packed with a lot of fun for me and my office acquaintances to visit your blog not less than three times every week to read through the latest issues you have got. And lastly, I’m usually fulfilled with the extraordinary tips and hints served by you. Certain 4 ideas in this posting are really the very best I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

