four play

I keep seeing this “4 Things” post around.

The only interesting question I’ve found on this tag is, “4 books you wish you could read again for the first time.” It made me stop for a second and ponder…because we can never go back. With each time you read a book, rewatch a film, or listen to a piece of music, you add more to it as your experiences change. Although usually if its outstanding, you’ll always be transported a bit back to that time, except it’ll never be the same…

4 books you wish you could read again for the first time:

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg

1984 by George Orwell

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

4 albums you wish you could listen to again for the first time:

Blood Sugar Sex Magik – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Tim – The Replacements

The Bootleg Series – Bob Dylan

London Calling – The Clash

Silent Alarm – Bloc Party

4 films you wish you could watch again for the first time:

My Life Without Me (2003)

The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

La Dolce Vita (1960)

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

The Apartment (1960)

Give it a go, if you wish.

6 Comments

Filed under stuff and things

6 responses to “four play

  1. This is an interesting exercise – looking back and trying to recreate the feelings surrounding the first time seeing or hearing or reading something that has become very familiar over the years. Sort of like the early stages of romantic love, in a way.

    You have some made some intriguing choices, a few of which I can complete relate to – Slaughterhouse 5, London Calling, Silent Alarm, in particular.

    I may need to do this exercise myself!

  2. Its true. The albums question was the hardest to narrow done (surprise) but those were the most immediate for me. The only one missing would have been Low by Bowie.

    I can remember the day I bought and listened to Silent Alarm so vividly. Such a great album, too bad the band started to fade a bit.

    I hope you do! :)

  3. yeah, keep seeing it too and find them interesting to read but my brain is too overloaded and I can’t squeeze out those sort of lists right now

  4. That’s why I shortened it two three questions. ;)

  5. strawberry-blondie

    Well, I’m awfully lazy and four seems like an awfully big number… I shall provide one answer to each. ;-)

    Book – Lord of the Flies, William Golding
    Album – Abbey Road, the Beatles
    Film – The Godfather

    Can’t go wrong with the classics. Apologies for being such a lazy bastard. ;-)

  6. Thank-you for playing along. Even with a shortlist. :)

    Ah, The Godfather. Great choice! I can recall very vividly watching that for the first time (on a big screen). Makes me all nostalgic for our film days.

Leave a Reply

