A Day

Do you ever feel like you are really busy, but in a mundane kind of way?

Its just past 4pm and I’m readying myself for staying late and putting final touches on the exhibition. Well, there is still a large chunk to do – a DVD – but the panels, etc have been hung, and artefacts organized. Museum display is so much harder than art display…in its own way I suppose.

I could really use another pair of hands, except my summer students are proving to be um, difficult. I don’t want to get into it, but things are not going well. My boss is venting to me, which is a first.

One of my biggest frustrations today is when I ask an opinion (of say a display or a caption blurb), response has been “Nice” or “Good”. That’s not constructive! Or helpful. Why are people so afraid to give opinions when asked? If I’m asking and seeking constructive feedback, it means I am  interested in your thoughts. Yes, there is a chance I won’t agree, but its not as if I am going to yell at you.

I’m not just speaking about the students, also in general. I am the only one who has this problem?

6 Comments

Filed under rants

6 responses to “A Day

  1. f

    Most people don’t actually want your opinion when they ask you for it, that’s part of it. The other part of it is that, especially in a work situation where you are someone’s boss, they are afraid of what will happen if they voice their true opinion. The third thing is, these days it’s often a matter of apathy, they have so much else on their minds that they really couldn’t give a fuck.

  2. This is true. I don’t ask for opinions unless I’m interested though. I can see in a work situation not speaking up, I stay silent sometimes when it calls for it too, but overall apathy frustrates me. I think I must be getting more cranky as I get older or something.

  3. Sadly, many people have no opinions. They have been spoon fed what to think for so long that they can’t be bothered to think up anything on their own.

    That’s MY opinion, anyway.

    Sorry your students aren’t working out all that well. That can turn into a huge waste of time and money.

    signed, the rarely unopinionated zombie

  4. Allison

    I have to agree with you.

    I’m hopeful that they just need a strong breaking in. One is proving to be much better than the other. Hopefully by the end of June things will be in full swing.

    Trying to be optimistic. ;)

  5. Most people just don’t care. I learned that a long time ago and then stopped taking it personally. But some people do care and don’t always tell you and a very few people care and tell you.

  6. Allison

    I am learning that, but it still bothers me. Slowing learning to let it go. ;)

Leave a Reply

