the neverending day

I have a feeling its going to be one of those days.

I’ve been up since 4.30am. Arrived back here just before I needed to start work, got in the car and drove back into town, about midway through the journey I noticed some smoke billowing out from under the hood. Lovely. Turns out I have a broken radiator. The cost to replace is more than my rent for the month. I honestly cannot wait until I can sell this car and be done with it. Its just a money pit and I’d rather walk anyway. Only trouble is if I want to go anywhere outside the town here, it is not possible without the car. So here’s to the fall and moving!

Work has been rather productive today though. Little bit of running around like a chicken with my head cut off as I’m installing the exhibition this week, but its fun.

I saw this posted on Facebook from Sean and couldn’t resist re posting it here. We’ve enjoyed some great word posts over the years, and I found this article interesting.

As I’m sure yours does as well, my favourite word changes daily. I am currently enjoying cacophony, and absorbent. Oh, and litigious . I’ve been using them all like mad. However, this article also points out least favourite words. I found it amusing that people cited “moist” as a least favourite. I think its a great word. Anyway, my least favourite words, off the top of my head:

Neat, squash, pigment, gravol…I’m sure there are more but those are leaping forward.

What are yours?

17 Comments

Filed under words

17 responses to “the neverending day

  1. captainfearless

    My car need a $1000 worth of work and wouldn’t you know as the temperature hits triple digits the water pump decides to quit.

    Polyrthym is a word I like lately, And I have put craptastic back into heavy rotation.

    neat, nice, and I am sick of ZOMG even though it’s not a word.

  2. Ach! That sucks, my damage is half that but I put close to $1500 into it the fall. Yes, water pump is kind of important. Well, you have my car sympathizes. At least its bike season there for you! ;)

    Polyrhythm is a grand word! Whenever I hear the word “nice” it reminds me of a George Carlin sketch and cringe because I too hate the word.

    What is ZOMG? I have never seen that before.

  3. captainfearless

    Urban dictionary explains it better than I would…

    zOMG is a varient of the all-too-popular acronym “OMG”, meaning “Oh My God”.

    The “z” was originally a mistake while attempting to hit the shift key with the left hand, and type “OMG”

    Also used in all-caps, ‘ZOMG’ is generally used in a sarcastic manner, more often than not a humiliating fasion. It is also used as a device for stating the obvious.

  4. Ah, I see. Well, I understand why you would be sick of it. I dislike OMG to begin with, acronyms in general confuse me. Now I’m thinking of other popular mistakes that could be turned into words though, to start a new trend.

  5. Can I have your job?

  6. Like the chicken little role? Sure, as long as you have good patience and can deal with slow talkers!

  7. Cars and houses are always money pits. We should all be riding bikes and living in tents.

    Favourite words of the moment: dandy, bittersweet, curmudgeonly, and moribund.

    Least favourite of the moment: symposium, celebration

  8. I think it could be fun.

  9. John: Ha! Yes, I have to agree. Although it’d have to be a tent with an air mattress. ;)

    Moribund, not one I use very often. Good choice.

    I’m all about the ‘iums’ lately.

    Coyotemike: It is, most days. Nothing is ever the same. :)

  10. captainfearless

    Totally gonna name my next band
    The Dandy Moribunds

  11. I like it. Moribund needs to be used more often. Must make that the goal of the week!

  12. Argh, so sorry about your car ills. One of the hardest decisions to make is when to cut your loses on that car that keeps breaking down. One always figures, well maybe I’ll just fix this one more thing.

    It’s funny, I have been thinking a lot lately about neuroscience terms that I miss hearing on a daily basis. Some of my favourites are: basal ganglia, penumbra, corpus callosum, synaptic plasticity.

    I am so tired of the word “actually”, but that’s because it is one of those fillers words that I tend to overuse.

  13. Allison

    Yeah, I’ll probably be getting rid of it come the fall so hopefully this will be the last bill.

    Those are some great terms. Its funny when you leave an environment the language sometimes goes with it. I love the word, penumbra.

    I use actually probably too much as well…

  14. I do rather like ‘squash’. Often there are words I just can’t get out of my head and as soon as somebody asks me what words I like I can’t think of a damn one!

    Radiator on my old car just disintegrated, disappeared without a trace. So I part-exchanged it at a garage and prayed they didn’t open the bonnet. Worked!

  15. Haha! You sneaky devil, you! I may have to try that if things keep up like this. ;)

  16. Eve

    Shananigans.

    Hands down one of my favourite words.

    Sorry to hear about your car trouble. That is no fun, but looks like you had a blast in V town.

  17. Fabulous word!!! I need to use it more often. :)

    Yes, Vancouver was brilliant. I am going back in July and cannot wait.

Leave a Reply

