the need to destroy things sneaks up on me sometimes

I was talking with a friend recently, and they were lamenting how in a fit of anger over a situation with their partner,  a hammer met with an expensive piece of electronic equipment…and left said piece of equipment in several pieces.

It made me recall the time I snapped a Simon and Garfunkel record into numerous pieces because I was so mad at another (harder than it looks to break a record). It, however, was my own record (given to me by said other). So doesn’t pack the same amount of punch, but I never liked the record to begin with and it actually felt good to do so.

Do you have a tale of destruction? Have you ever destroyed someone else’s property, or your own, in a fit of anger?

8 Comments

Filed under honeybees

8 responses to “the need to destroy things sneaks up on me sometimes

  1. It is very hard to break a record… (No pun intended.) So good on you for doing so. I’ve never broken anything in anger but I have “reacted”. In my second year of University, my dorm roommate was hellish. Kind of a younger version of Homer Simpson if you will. His actions and smelly habits got the best of me one day so I donated all of his furniture to Goodwill.

    You would think I might have felt a tad guilty. (Not even a smidge.)

    :)
    Sean

  2. Allison

    I know, it took me a while. I was so sure it’d snap easier. ;)

    Good on your for taking action, I don’t think I would have had the guts to do that!

    Oh, we should compare roommate stories sometime. My roommate in residence in first year university did laundry twice in the eight months we lived there. Inside of washing, she’d just turn her clothes – knickers too – inside out. It was gross. I can handle a mess, we’re all a little messy, but being physically dirty is something I can’t deal with.

  3. Liz

    I once got into a terrible argument with a boyfriend while driving down a road, and ending up grabbing one of his favorite CDs, rolling the window down, and throwing it into traffic. I am not proud of this.

    I’ll never forget the expression on his face as he sat staring at me from in the passenger seat either. Hey, I was only 19.

  4. I’ve had a few arguments in cars, but nothing has landed on the motorway. It happens though, confined spaces and sometimes you just need to throw something. ;)

  5. I can’t recall ever breaking anything (or anyone) in a fit of anger, but my rage tends to be more the slow simmering kind. You know, the kind that allows you to maintain a grudge for eternity? And I have exacted my revenge thoroughly when needed, oh yes.

    God now I sound like a nut case. Oh well.

  6. Ha ha. I’m picturing you with steeple hands and laughing manically now. ;) Remind me never to get on your bad side!

  7. Yikes. Isn’t that one of the boxes they tick when determining if a spouse is abusive?

  8. Allison

    Well, in the story mentioned, the breaking of the equipment was allowed by the other party…

Leave a Reply

